Wrestling Bucs win three championships at Big 10 Conference tournament

Julius Hobbs

Hobbs named Wrestler of the Year; Orr selected as Coach of the Year

KINGWOOD – The Buckhannon-Upshur wrestling Buccaneers left Kingwood Saturday evening with three Big 10 Conference championships, the Big 10 Wrestler of the Year, the Big 10 Coach of the Year and runner-up honors in the very loaded Big 10 Tournament.

The two-day affair was held last Friday and Saturday at Preston High School with the lighter weight divisions wrestling Friday and the heavier weight divisions scrapping on Saturday.

When the dust cleared, Buckhannon-Upshur’s Aiden Wilson (113 pounds), Julius Hobbs (132 pounds) and Breagan Pearson (145 pounds) all won Big 10 Conference championships while Hobbs was named the Wrestler of the Year and Jacob Orr was named Coach of the Year.

Wilson pinned Jared Flanigan of Lewis County to win his Big 10 crown.

Hobbs had a thrilling match for his title going overtime to win a 9-8 decision over Fairmont Senior’s Kolbie Hamilton.

Pearson earned his title with an 8-3 decision over North Marion’s Hunter Kuhn.

Three other Buccaneers made it to their respective championship matches.

Nathan Cornett (138 pounds) made it to the championships round but lost a 17-2 technical fall to East Fairmont’s Blake Byers, Trevur Randolph (152 pounds) came up short in his title match by an 8-0 major decision to Fairmont Senior’s Michael Kruzel and Alex Bennett (220 pounds) fought into overtime in his championship outing before dropping a 3-1 decision to Preston’s Ayden Bishoff.

Jeremiah Burkhammer (106 pounds) was the other Buc to place as he finished fourth, losing to Philip Barbour’s Matthew Shahan in the consolation finals.

“I am proud of everyone that placed but just as proud of those who didn’t,” remarked Orr. “Liam Garcia (120 pounds) ran into a couple of buzzsaws. The 120-pound division was probably the toughest weight class there was, Luke Bohnsack (160 pounds) wrestled a couple of tough matches, the cards just weren’t in his favor, Trevor Wayscaster (170 pounds) is a first-year kid that goes out and battles in every match, Oscar Blonn (182 pounds) had a tough opening match and Joel Hershman (285 pounds) fell just short of making the podium.”

In the team standings, the Buccaneers were in first place after day one but had to settle for second overall with 120.5 points.

Fairmont Senior won the team title with 183 points while Bridgeport was behind the Buccaneers in third place with 120 points.

“We were in first after Friday’s competition, but we knew Fairmont Senior, who was in second, had most of their heavy hitters going to the mat on Saturday,” noted Orr.

Buckhannon-Upshur will compete again today in a quad at Elkins then battle in the Region I Championships on April 10 at Brooke High School.

The results:


1. Fairmont Senior 183; 2. Buckhannon-Upshur 120.5; 3. Bridgeport 120; 4. Lewis County 96; 5. East Fairmont 90.5; 6. Preston 62; 7. North Marion 46; 8. Lincoln 50; 9. Grafton 35; 10. Liberty 30.5; 11. Philip Barbour 23; 12. Robert C. Byrd 18.5.

Big 10 Wrestler of the Year – Julius Hobbs (Buckhannon-Upshur)

Big 10 Coach of the Year – Jacob Orr (Buckhannon-Upshur)



106 pounds -- Jeremiah Burkhammer (2-2, fourth place)

113 pounds – Aiden Wilson (1-0, first place)

120 pounds – Liam Garcia (0-2)

132 pounds – Julius Hobbs (2-0, first place)

138 pounds – Nathan Cornett (2-1, second place)

145 pounds – Breagan Pearson (3-0), first place)


152 pounds – Trevur Randolph (2-1, second place)

160 pounds – Luke Bohnsack (0-2)

170 pounds – Trevor Waycaster (0-2)

182 pounds – Oscar Blonn (0-1)

220 pounds – Alex Bennett (2-1, second place)

285 pounds – Joel Hershman (1-2)


Video News
More In Sports