Wrestling Bucs edged by South Harrison, 36-35

Tyler Cutright

LOST CREEK – The Buckhannon-Upshur wrestling Buccaneers won the battle but lost the war so-to-speak in a dual match with the South Harrison Hawks last Tuesday.

The Buccaneers won five of the seven matches held on the mat but because of several forfeits they lost a 36-35 decision.

“We gave up 24 points in four weight classes via forfeits,” remarked Buckhannon-Upshur head coach Jacob Orr.

Earning pin fall victories for the Bucs were Jacob Smithson (160 pounds) and Dominic Tenney (170).

Smith pinned Blake Davis in 1:19 and Tenney pinned James Rodgers in 1:18.

Tyler Cutright (138) earned a 19-4 technical fall over Gaven Hogsed while Austin McCartney (126) won a 6-2 decision over Preston Peck and Breagan Pearson (145) won a 4-1 decision over Anthony Colombo.

The other Buc victory belonged to Trevor Randolph (120) and Tucker Hurst (132) via forfeit.

The Bucs will return to the mat Saturday in the Brooke Classic.

The 16-team Classic will feature: Brecksville-Broadview Hts, OH; Licking Valley, OH;Mayfield, OH; St Clairsville, OH;  Thomas Worthington, OH; Blue Mountain, PA; Erie Cathedral Prep, PA; Hampton, PA; Mars, PA; Penn Hills, PA; Seneca Valley, PA; Brooke; Buckhannon-Upshur; John Marshall; Oak Glen; Spring Mills and Wheeling Park.

They will then prepare for the Big 10 Conference championships Feb. 1-2 at Lewis County.

The results:

South Harrison 36 Buck.Upshur 35

106 – Matthew Ables (SH) won by forfeit

113 – Double forfeit

120 – Trevor Randolph (B-U) won by forfeit

126 – Austin McCartney (B-U) won by 6-2 decision over Preston Peck

132 – Tucker Hurst (B-U) won by forfeit

138 – Tyler Cutright (B-U) won by 19-4 technical fall over Gaven Hogsed

145 – Breagan Pearson (B-U) won by 4-1 decision over Anthony Colombo

152 – Francisco Reyna (SH) pinned Nathan Allen in 4:22

160 – Jacob Smithson (B-U) pinned Blake Davis 1:19

170 – Tenney (B-U) pinned James Rodgers in 1:18

182 – Ethan Kelley (SH) won by forfeit

195 – Elias Stamm (SH) won by forfeit

220 – Gavin Velazquez (SH) won by forfeit

285 – Trey Waller (SH) pinned Todd Cutlip in 1:49


Video News
More In Sports