Wesleyan’s Tavekelian and Lapole earn All-MEC First Team honors

BRIDGEPORT — Leah Foster was Player of the Year, Morgan Carmichael the Defensive Player of the Year, Rachel Bell Freshman of the Year, and Luke Duffy was selected as the Coach of the Year in the MEC.

Foster, a sophomore from Wigan, England, is the league's Offensive Player of the Year after scoring leading the league in goals (15) and points (42), and ranking second in the league in assists (12).

Her 15 goals and 42 points are MEC records. She earned MEC Offensive Player of the Week honors three times this season. Foster ranks fifth in the country in assists per game (0.67), 13th in the country in points per game (2.33) and 25th in goals per game (0.83). Foster has a 3.76 grade-point average majoring in health.

Carmichael, a junior from Fleming Island, Fla, is the MEC's Defensive Player of the Year after leading a defensive unit that allowed just seven goals in the regular season and posted 10 shutouts.

Concord leads the league in goals-against average (0.38) and allows just six shots per game. She also added a goal and two assists this season. Carmichael has a 3.69 GPA majoring in business administration with a concentration in accounting.

Bell, a native of Brampton, England, is the conference's Freshman of the Year after tallying 16 goals and four assists this year.

Her 16 goals this season are a MEC single-season record. She scored goals in eight games this year and produced five game-winners.

Duffy was named the MEC Coach of the Year after leading Concord to its first South Division title. He's led the program to a 17-1 overall record (13-1) in MEC, surpassing the previous school record of 13 wins set back in 2002. The Mountain Lions are among the national leaders in scoring (3.67 per game) and the 66 goals are second-best in the country this year, while also allowing a goals against average of just 0.38. Additionally, Concord was ranked second in the most recent edition of the NCAA Atlantic Region rankings.

In addition to the individual honors, the league also announced its All-MEC teams. The Concord trio of Foster, Bell and Carmichael all earned a spot on the first team, along with teammate Mira Konito. North Division champs Fairmont State also had four players earn first-team recognition in Taylor Kennedy, Ella Wilson, Abbie Fowler and Mackenzie Gillispie.

West Virginia Wesleyan had two players on the first team in Jadyn Tavekelian, Madison Lapole, and Charleston's Madison Hanson also was a first-team selection. Alyssa Edwards became the first Urbana player to earn first-team All-MEC honors, and Brooke Shehade had the same distinction for Frostburg State to round out the first team.


Pos.  Name Cl. School

G — Taylor Kennedy Fr. Fairmont State

D — Morgan Carmichael Jr. Concord

D — Madison Hanson So. Charleston

D — Jadyn Tavekelian So. W.Va. Wesleyan

D — Ella Wilson So. Fairmont State

M —Abbie Fowler So. Fairmont State

M — Mackenzie Gillispie Fr. Fairmont State

M — Mira Konito Jr. Concord

M — Madison Lapole Sr. W.Va. Wesleyan

F — Rachel Bell Fr. Concord

F — Alyssa Edwards Jr. Urbana

F — Leah Foster So. Concord

F — Brooke Shehade Sr. Frostburg State


Pos.  Name Cl. School

G — Jordan Pasalaqua Fr. Notre Dame

D — Samantha Cozzolino Sr. Davis & Elkins

D — Kady Cushing Fr. Notre Dame

D — April Gaukin Fr. Notre Dame

D — Kellie Norris Jr. Fairmont State

D — Alyssa Mahar Jr. Concord

M — Michelle Brogden Fr. Concord

M — Lauren Chaney Sr. Notre Dame

M — Kayla Fay Jr. W.Va. Wesleyan

M — Alana Mikulis Jr. Charleston

F — Keira HIll So. Charleston

F — Yasmin Mosby Jr. Concord

F — Haelly Ramirez Sr. W.Va. Wesleyan


G Katie Maher (CU), Hazel Sanz (UU)

M Asheli Freed (DE), Abby Johnson (FAIR), Courtney Wallace, Jordin Littles (UU), Leighana Weaver (GSC)

F Audra Curtain (FROST)


Pos.  Name School

F — Rachel Bell Concord

M — Michelle Brogden Concord

D — Kady Cushing Notre Dame

D — April Gaukin Notre Dame

M — Mackenzie Gillispie Fairmont State

G — Taylor Kennedy Fairmont State

G — Jordan Pasalaqua Notre Dame

D —Ali Rhinaman West Liberty

Offensive Player of the Year: Leah Foster (Concord)

Defensive Player of the Year: Morgan Carmichael (Concord)

Freshman of the Year: Rachel Bell (Concord)

Coach of the Year: Luke Duffy (Concord)


Video News
More In Sports