Wesleyan’s Clay Todd named to All-MEC Basketball Team Honorable Mention List

Clay Todd (3) of the West Virginia Wesleyan Bobcats earned Honorable Mention honors on the 2019 All-MEC Basketball Team. Todd was the lone member of the Bobcats to make the team.

BRIDGEPORT — Notre Dame's Will Vorhees has been selected as the 2018-19 Mountain East Conference Men's Basketball Player of the Year, while West Liberty's Will Yoakum (Freshman of the Year) and NDC's Tim Koenig (Coach of the Year) also received top honors from the league.

Vorhees, a senior from Lima, Ohio, averaged 28.9 points and 11.3 rebounds in his final season with the Falcons. The three-time first team All-MEC selection finished the regular season third in the country in scoring and seventh in rebounds.

He scored more than 20 points a league-best 23 times and his 20 double-doubles are second-best in the NCAA. Vorhees, a four-time MEC Player of the Week and a three-time USBWA National Player of the Week, became the first player in MEC history to record over 2,000 points and 1,000 rebounds for his career. He's the leading active scorer in NCAA Division II.

Yoakum, a native of Delaware, Ohio, contributed 14.5 points and 4.3 rebounds and started all 27 games for the Hilltoppers this season.

He is the second-leading scorer for a West Liberty squad that leads the nation in scoring. He ranks in the top 10 in the league in field goal percentage (7th, 54.9) and free throw percentage (8th, 84.3).

Koenig earns his first MEC Coach of the Year honors after leading Notre Dame to a 20-8 record and a 16-6 mark in conference play.

In just a season after the Falcons went 4-18 and missed the MEC Tournament, he guided NDC to its first 20-win regular season in program history and its highest finish in the MEC standings (fourth).

The league also announced the 2018-19 all-conference teams. In addition to Vorhees, who earned first team honors in 2016 and 2017, Tommy Bolte of Concord repeats as a first team selection. Fairmont State's duo of Jason Jolly and Vonte Montgomery moved up from the second team a season ago and earned a spot on the first team this year.

West Liberty's Dalton Bolon and Eric Meininger were also first team picks, along with Charleston's Drew Rackley and Notre Dame's Larenz Thurman.

Players from eight different institutions comprise the second team: Phil Bledsoe (Glenville State), Thomas Lang (Shepherd), Malik Jacobs (Urbana), Lamont McManus (Charleston), Briggs Parris (UVa-Wise), Jair Rodgers (Concord), Gus Stone (W.Va. State), Will Yoakum (West Liberty).

Winston Burgess (Shepherd), Kenzie Melko (Fairmont State), Devon Robinson (Charleston) and Clay Todd (West Virginia Wesleyan) earned honorable mention recognition.

The All-MEC teams are selected by a vote of the league’s coaches:

2019 All-MEC First Team

Dalton Bolon* -- West Liberty (6-4, sophomore guard)

Tommy Bolte – Concord (6-1, senior guard)

Jason Jolly – Fairmont State (5-7, senior guard)

Eric Meininger – West Liberty (6-5, senior forward)

Vonte Montgomery – Fairmont State (6-1, senior guard)

Drew Rackley – Charleston (6-2, junior guard)

Larenz Thurman – Notre Dame (6-1, junior guard)

Will Vorhees* – Notre Dame (6-8, senior forward)

*Denotes repeat selection

2019 All-MEC Second Team

Phil Bledsoe – Glenville State (6-6, junior forward)

Thomas Lang – Shepherd (6-0, junior guard)

Malik Jacobs – Urbana (6-2, senior forward)

Lamont McManus – Charleston (6-6, sophomore center)

Biggs Parris – UVa.-Wise (6-4, freshman guard)

Jair Rodgers – Concord (5-11, junior guard)

Gus Stone – West Virginia State (6-5, junior guard)

Will Yoakum – West Liberty (6-5, freshman guard)

2019 All-MEC Honorable Mention

Winston Burgess – Shepherd (6-6, senior forward)

Kenzie Melko – Fairmont State (6-4, sophomore forward)

Devon Robinson – Charleston (6-4, junior forward)

Clay Todd – West Virginia Wesleyan (6-2, junior guard)

Player of the Year – Will Vorhees (Notre Dame)

Freshman of the Year – Will Yoakum (West Liberty)

Coach of the Year – Tim Koenig (Notre Dame)

Clay Todd (3) of the West Virginia Wesleyan Bobcats earned Honorable Mention honors on the 2019 All-MEC Basketball Team. Todd was the lone member of the Bobcats to make the team.

Video News
More In Sports