Wesleyan to induct six into Athletic Hall of Fame

BUCKHANNON – West Virginia Wesleyan College has announced the addition of six new members to the Athletics Hall of Fame in the Class of 2020.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Thursday, October 1, as part of the on-campus Homecoming festivities.

The new inductees are John “Nick” DiPietro ’67, John Esposito ’69, Lisa Thompson-Carter ’95, Ian Burgess ’95, Scott Gasper ’99 and Stephanie Hatfield-McCollman ’06.

DiPietro was a member of the football and track and field teams.

He was all-conference in 1964 and 1965 and led the WVIAC in rushing in 1965 with 732 yards.

He ranks 14th all-time on the Wesleyan rushing yards list with 1,451 yards.

Upon graduation, DiPietro served in the U.S. Army as a military police officer.

After serving, he received interest from professional teams including the Oakland Raiders, Boston Patriots, and Wheeling Ironmen.

DiPietro played for the Virginia Sailors of the Atlantic Coast Football League, an affiliate team of the Washington Redskins.

Esposito was a member of the men’s soccer team and track and field teams.

He was part of two WVIAC championship teams in 1965 and 1966 and was all-conference in 1968.

He set the Wesleyan pole vault record in 1969 and was the captain of the team in 1969.

Esposito continued into professional soccer after graduation with the Eastern U.S. Select Team, which played against international competition. He was a great leader and ambassador for West Virginia Wesleyan in the orange and black, and in his post-graduation playing career.

Thompson-Carter was a member of the softball team.

The righter-hander was from Ripley.

She was the WVIAC Pitcher of the Year in 1992 and 1994.

She ended her career as one of the most dominating pitchers Wesleyan had ever recruited with a 52-13 record with an career ERA of 1.43.

Ian Burgess was a member of the men’s soccer team

He was a four-time All-WVIAC selection, the 1994 WVIAC Player of the Year, a 1994 NAIA and NSCAA All-American, a member of the 1994 NAIA All-Tournament Team and a member of the 1994 national championship team.

He was a three-time WVIAC champion, a 1995 Umbro Senior Bowl participate and ended his stay at Wesleyan with 25 goals and 35 assists.

Burgess was one of the best players on some of the best teams in West Virginia Wesleyan history, winning three conference championships, and captaining the Bobcats to the 1994 NAIA National Championship.

Gasper was a member of the football team.

He holds nine West Virginia Wesleyan passing records at quarterback, was part of the 1995 WVIAC championship team, was a 1998 All-WVIAC selection and finished seventh in NCAA career passing rating.

Gasper continued his playing career after graduation, playing for the Norfolk Nighthawks and Rochester Brigade in the Arena Football League, and the Orebro Black Knights in Sweden. He is currently on-staff with the West Virginia University Mountaineers as the offensive recruiting coordinator.

He served as the director of player personnel at Indiana University, quarterbacks coach at East Mississippi Community College, has held multiple coaching positions at Seton Hill, Bethany College, St. Joseph's College, and served as the quarterbacks and wide receivers coach at West Virginia Wesleyan in 1999-2000.

Hatfield-McCollam was a member of the track and field and cross country teams.

She was four-times All-WVIAC in cross country and a five-time WVIAC champion.

She holds the 10,000-meter record at the college and holds the 3,000, the 5,000 and the 10,000-meter records for the WVIAC. She was also an Academic All-American.

Hatfield-McCollam is one of only five women in West Virginia Wesleyan history to be named all-conference in all four years of competition.


Video News
More In Sports