Walker wins individual title; Buccaneers earn team championship at Barbour County XC Skirmish

Samuel Walker of the Buckhannon-Upshur cross country Buccaneers took first place in the Barbour County Skirmish on Friday at Philip Barbour High School. Walker set a new course record with a time of 18:28. His Bucs also won the team championships with 19 points.

PHILIPPI – Buckhannon-Upshur’s Samuel Walker seems to enjoy running in the Barbour County Skirmish.

Walker won the event for the second straight year and broke the course record again with a time of 18:28, a full 26 seconds better than runner-up Noah Ward of Philip Barbour.

The Bucs dominated the four-team event placing five runners in the top six behind Walker and Ward.

Julius Hobbs ran third with a time of 20:04, Corey Hamner placed fourth with a clocking of 20:30, Jordan Gillum took fifth with a time of 20:46 and Harrison Walker ran sixth with a time of 20:47.

Ethan Cutright also had a top 10 finish placing 10th with a time of 21:55.

Rounding out the B-U line-up was Brycen Allen (22:23), Tanner Hardman (23:05), Dylan Cornett (25:22), Philip Setterlund (25:35), Jackson McNeish (29:11), LJ Wyatt (29:45), Garrett Summers (30:24) and Nathaniel Beer (42:23).

With five of the top six spots, the Bucs easily won the team title with just 19 points.

Philip Barbour was second with 48, Tucker County was third with 73 and Gilmer County was fourth with 104.

The Bucs will return to action Saturday when they compete in the Forest Festival Invitational at Davis Elkins College at 9:30 a.m.

The results:


1. Buckhannon-Upshur 19; 2. Philip Barbour 48; 3. Tucker County 73; 4. Gilmer County 104.


1. Samuel Walker (Buckhannon-Upshur) – 18:28.

2. Noah Ward (Philip Barbour) – 18:54.

3. Julius Hobbs (Buckhannon-Upshur) – 20:04.

4. Corey Hamner (Buckhannon-Upshur) – 20:30.

5. Jordan Gillum (Buckhannon-Upshur) – 20:46.


Samuel Walker (1st) – 18:28

Julius Hobbs (3rd) – 18:54

Corey Hamner (4th) – 20:30

Jordan Gillum (5th) – 20:46

Harrison Walker (6th) – 20:47

Ethan Cutright (10th) – 21:55

Brycen Allen (12th) – 22:23

Tanner Hardman (14th) – 23:05

Dylan Cornett (24th) – 25:22

Philip Setterlund (26th) – 25:35

Jackson McNweigh (32nd) – 29:11

LJ Wyatt (33rd) – 29:45

Garrett Summers (34th) – 30:24

Nathaniel Beer (35th) – 42:23


Video News
More In Sports