Volleyball Lady Bucs place three on the Big 10 All-Conference team

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur volleyball team landed three players on the Big 10 All-Conference team that was released Monday afternoon.

Buckhannon-Upshur senior McKenzie Reynolds was named to the First Team while sophomore Kendal Currence and junior Caroline Frye were selected as Second Team honorees.

“I am very proud of the hard work and dedication of all three of these girls,” remarked Buckhannon-Upshur head coach Ashley Stanton.

Reynolds led the Lady Bucs in four categories.

She paced the squad in aces with 61, kills with 148, blocks with 22 and digs with 174.

She also added 14 assists.

“I’ve had the pleasure of coaching McKenzie since she was a seventh-grader,” said Stanton. “It’s been wonderful watching her grow as an athlete and as a person. I wish her all the best in her future endeavors.”

Currence was second on the team in kills with 118, assists with 20, blocks with 16, third in digs with 135 and fifth in aces with 24.

Frye was second on the squad in aces with 42 and in digs with 167, third in kills with 82 and fourth in assists with nine.

“I am very excited to see what next season holds for Kendal and Caroline,” said Stanton. “They are very talented athletes.”

Stanton’s Lady Bucs ended the year with a 15-6 record overall and finished fifth in the Big 10 Conference with an 8-4 record.

Shea Hefner of Bridgeport was named the Big 10 Conference Player of the Year while Liberty’s Chris Vance was named the Big 10 Conference Head Coach of the Year.

Philip Barbour won the league title with a perfect 11-0 record while Bridgeport was second with a 5-0 mark.

The West Virginia Sports Writers Association Class AAA All-State Volleyball Team will be released this weekend.



Avieri Carpenter – Philip Barbour

Avery Childers – Robert C. Byrd

Emily Denison – Philip Barbour

Abby Fazzini – Robert C. Byrd

Gabriella Floyd – Liberty

Shea Hefner – Bridgeport

Alyssa Hill – Philip Barbour

Maggie Poling – North Marion

McKenzie Reynolds – Buckhannon-Upshur

Payton Shreve – Grafton

Violet Sickles – Bridgeport

Somer Stover – East Fairmont


Dacey Arbogast – Elkins

Keirra Bartholow – East Fairmont

Brianna Cox – Liberty

Kendal Currence – Buckhannon-Upshur

Caroline Frye – Buckhannon-Upshur

Julia Griffith – Bridgeport

Jordan Heckert – Robert C. Byrd

Lyndsey Heckert – Robert C. Byrd

Chloe Johnson – Fairmont Senior

Katie Kennedy – Philip Barbour

Alexa Martin – Bridgeport

Ariesa Taylor – Grafton


Destiny Cunningham – Lincoln

Emily Knotts – Preston

Blair Nuzum – East Fairmont

Morgan Riffle – Lewis County

Player of the Year – Shea Hefner (Bridgeport)

Head Coach of the Year – Chris Vance (Liberty)

Big 10 Conference Standings

1. Philip Barbour 11-0

2. Bridgeport 5-0

3. Robert C. Byrd 10-2

4. East Fairmont 8-3

5. Buckhannon-Upshur 8-4

6. Grafton 7-5

7. Liberty 6-5

8. Elkins 4-5

9. (tie) Lewis County 3-8

      Fairmont Senior 3-8

11. North Marion 3-9

12. Lincoln 1-9

13. Preston 0-10


Video News
More In Sports