Vincent named to All-State HM volleyball team

Junior Abbie Vincent (12) of the Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Buc volleyball team was named to the 2018 West Virginia All-State Honorable Mention Team.

TENNERTON – Buckhannon-Upshur junior Abbie Vincent was named to the 2018 West Virginia Class AAA All-State Honorable Mention squad as chosen by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

During her junior season, Vincent was second on the Lady Buc team in aces with 47 and kills with 139.

She also recorded 93 digs and 16 assists.

She helped the Lady Bucs to a 17-10 record.

Woodrow Wilson’s Bryce Knapp was named as the First Team Captain while Greenbrier East’s Abbey Anderson selected as Second Team Captain.

Spring Valley had the most First Team All-State players with two — Alex Darby and Alexa Ball.

Philip Barbour’s McKenize Carpenter was named the 2018 West Virginia High School Volleyball Player of the Year

As a senior, she led the Lady Colts to a 42-11-2 record by putting down 651 kills, while also coming up with 183 blocks at the net. In addition, she led the team in digs with 529 while also serving up 46 aces.

For her career, she recorded 2,154 kills, 765 blocks, 1,612 digs and 117 aces.

2018 W.Va. Class AAA

All-State Volleyball


Bryce Knapp, Woodrow Wilson, SR (CAPTAIN)

Jaden Gray, Musselman, SR

Karlei Shaver, Greenbrier East, SR

Alex Darby, Spring Valley, SR

Kiersten Eggleton, St. Albans, JR

Alexa Ball, Spring Valley, SR

Shay-Lee Kirby, Parkersburg, SR

Gracie Brumfield, Cabell Midland, SR

Mackenzie Yates, Hedgesville, JR

Camryn Hughes, George Washington, SO


Abbey Anderson, Greenbrier East, SR (CAPTAIN)

Shelby Roberts, Parkersburg, JR

Sarah Wright, Musselman, SR

Ashten Boggs, University, JR

Kennedy D'Antoni, St. Albans, SR

Ashleigh Wallin, Martinsburg, SO

McKayla Kemp, Parkersburg South, JR

Ericka Link, Hedgesville, JR

Madison McDonald, Morgantown, SR

Kennedy Cornett, Woodrow Wilson, SR



Meredith Lewis, Musselman; Katie Beth Caudill, Spring Valley; Tori Terry, Princeton; Sydney Morris, Hedgesville; Cassie Fink, Parkersburg South; Bella Stuart, George Washington; Brooke Smith, Spring Valley; Ryleigh Bledsoe, Cabell Midland; Macie Motley, Huntington; Katlyn Sarver, Ripley; Adrian Coalson, Woodrow Wilson; Hannah Adkins, Parkersburg; Lauren Huggins, University; Chylyn Pate, Greenbrier East.


Hannah Gordon, Hampshire; Katelyn McVicker, St. Albans; Chelsea Crowder, South Charleston; Peyton Ruest, Hedgesville; Aaliyah Henry, Capital; Leia Harper, Spring Mills; Abbie Vincent, Buckhannon-Upshur; Emily Poe, Hurricane; Emily Harr, John Marshall; Maggie Niebur, Hurricane; Abbey Paczek, Morgantown; Courtney Engle, Brooke; Rachel Simon, Wheeling Park; Abigail Joseph, Martinsburg.

Player of the Year – McKenzie Carpenter (Philip Barbour)

Video News
More In Sports