Upshur County Aide wins Service Personnel of the Year

CHARLESTON — On Tuesday, September 13, Jessica Grose of Upshur County was named the 2023 West Virginia School Service Personnel of the Year winner. The announcement was made by the West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) and the West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE) during the Celebration of Excellence in Education event held in Charleston. 

The following information has been obtained from a news release by the WVDE. It noted that WVBE President L. Paul Hardesty and West Virginia Superintendent of Schools David L. Roach were joined by members of the State Board of Education for the occasion which was held at the State Culture Center.

The release also noted that Grose serves as a special education aide at Hodgesville Elementary School. Grose is noted as “a great team player who commits to serving children whenever she is needed. During her 11 years of service, Grose has made lasting connections with students by making them feel important through her positive attitude and genuineness.

In addition to the support, she provides in her school building, Grose volunteers with the Upshur County FFA, the Buckhannon-Upshur High School football team, choir, band, cheerleading team and Buckhannon #24 International Order of the Rainbow for Girls.

“Ms. Grose has served the students and her school community in many ways for more than a decade,” said Superintendent Roach. “She is someone who is committed, principled and enthusiastic about supporting students and teachers. I am proud that she will represent the best of our school service personnel next year and I am truly grateful for her years of service inside and outside of the classroom.”

The West Virginia School Service Personnel of the Year program recognizes outstanding education support personnel for their contributions to their schools and communities. The program honors individuals who have demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication in the performance of their jobs, thereby earning them the respect and admiration of students, teachers, administrators, co-workers and parents.

As the 2023 winner, Grose will receive $2,500 each from the Horace Mann Companies and Highmark West Virginia, $500 from the West Virginia School Service Personnel Association (WVSSPA), as well as a tumbler and glass ornament, a two-night stay at Twin Falls Resort State Park from West Virginia State Parks and a piece of art from Blenko Glass Company. All finalists will receive a $25 gift card from Adams Hallmark and all county winners will receive tumblers from WVSSPA and a plaque and certificate from the WVDE.

Finalists for the 2023 included Michelle Clark, of Ritchie County’s Harrisville Elementary School, Susan Clark, of Morgan County’s Warm Springs Middle School, Jeffrey Coleman, of Marshall County’s John Marshall High School, Marketa Crum of Mason County’s Beale Elementary School, Wendy Dodson, of Jefferson County Schools Central Office, Mellissa Fuller, of Wyoming County’s Huff Consolidated Elementary and Middle School, Glenna Johnston, of Lewis County’s Peterson-Central Elementary School, Kaare Mejias, of Berkeley County’s Martinsburg North Middle School, and Hannah Rexrode of Mineral County’s Mineral County Schools. 

On Friday, September 16, Ms. Grose was also honored at Hodgesville Elementary School for this prestigious award. Congratulations Ms. Grose and thank you for representing Upshur County so well!


Video News
More In Homepage