Two Upshur County Youth Soccer teams win championships at Nicholas County Spring Tournament

U-12 Champs – The Upshur County U-12 Bobcats won the Nicholas County Spring Tournament this past Saturday in Summersville. Team members are, first row, left to right: Jeremiah Jeffries, Alayna Spotloe, Emily Dean, Alexander Bartolovich, Emily Dean, Riel Figueroa, Chase Ryan, Hayden Perry and Gavin Donaldson. Back row, left to right: assistant coach Jon Green, head coach Duane Carpenter, Sammie Shay, Ryleigh Jeffries, assistant coach Elvis Small, Brady Hommema and Jimmie Green.

SUMMERSVILLE – Two Upshur County Youth Soccer teams were victorious in the 2019 Nicholas County Youth Soccer Spring Tournament this past Saturday.

The Upshur County  Co-Ed Bobcats won their U-12 boys’ division while the Cool Mints won their U-10 girls’ division.

The Bobcats won their opener in pool play with a 10-0 win over the Webster County Timberwolves but lost their second pool game to Lewis County by a 1-0 score.

They advanced to the semifinal where they knocked off Summersville in a thrilling overtime game by a 1-0 score.

In the championship contest, they had a rematch with Lewis County and this time came away with a 3-2 overtime victory for the title.

The Bobcats are 11-1-2 on the season.

They are coached by Duane Carpenter, Elvis Small and Jon Green.

Team members include Eli Baker, Alexander Bartolovich, Emily Dean, Riel Figueroa, Jimmie Green, Gavin Harvey, Elaney Herron, Brady Hommema, Jeremiah Jeffries, Ryleigh Jeffries, Hayden Perry, Chase Ryan, Sammie Shay, Alayna Spotloe and Stacia Vincent.

The Cool Mints followed up their Buckhannon Toyota Invitational tournament win two weeks ago with another impressive showing.

They won their first round games over the Braxton Dangerous Divas by a 1-0 score and the Nicholas County Pink Lighting by a 3-1 count.

They defeated the Upshur Wild Mustangs by a 1-0 score in overtime in the semifinals.

In the title game, they captured a win over the Lewis County Crushers 2-0 after overtime and penalty kicks.

The Cool Mints are coached by Dustin Carlyle and Kailyn Roby and have a 15-1 record.

Their team members are Alexis Perry, Isebella Nottingham, Kallie Perry, Rylen Carlyle, Emilia LaNasa, Victoria Hamner, Abbie Holbert, Lilly Cogar, Brogan Tenney and MaraBeth Hines.


Video News
More In Sports