Three Lady Bucs earn laurels on Big 10 All-Conference soccer team

TENNERTON – Three Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Bucs were among those honored on the 2019 Big-10 All-Conference Soccer team.

Juniors Catherine Oliveto and Kennedy Samargo were selected to the First Team while Maggie Nolte was named to the Second Team.

Oliveto led the team in goals with 16 and was tied for first on the team in assists with 10.

Samargo started the season on the defensive side of the ball but was moved up front late in the season and accumulated 11 goals and two assists.

Nolte had one goal and two assists from her midfield position.

The Lady Bucs posted a 12-5-4 record overall and an 8-3-1 Big 10 Conference mark.

Bridgeport landed four players on the First Team – Allie Bender, Haley Griffith, Emma Perrine and Maddie Wilson.

Sophia Triplett of Elkins was named the Big 10 Conference Player of the Year while Bridgeport’s John Reese was named the Big 10 Conference Coach of the Year.

The Big 10 All-Conference Teams

Big 10 All-Conference First Team

Allie Bender – Bridgeport

Haley Griffith – Bridgeport

Emma Perrine – Bridgeport

Maddie Wilson – Bridgeport

Catherine Oliveto – Buckhannon-Upshur

Kennedy Samargo – Buckhannon-Upshur

Myleena Starsick – East Fairmont

Sophia Triplett – Elkins

Kadie Dunham – Grafton

Mackenzie Hendricks – Lewis County

Aeriss Efaw – North Marion

Payton Gregory – Philip Barbour

Megan Noss – Preston

Maddie Smith – Robert C. Byrd

Big 10 All-Conference Second Team

Maggie Nolte – Buckhannon-Upshur

Isabella Karlin – Elkins

Kate Gribben – Fairmont Senior

Avary King – Fairmont Senior

Jacinda Devart – Grafton

Emily Knotts – Grafton

Emily Knotts – Grafton

Alaina Bott –  Lincoln

Victoria Sturm – Lincoln

Haley Gribble – Philip Barbour

Brittany Lawrence – Philip Barbour

Cloie Mossesso – Philip Barbour

Karlie Denham – North Marion

Sarah Crim – Robert C. Byrd

Player of the Year: Sophia Triplett – Elkins

Coach of the Year: John Reese – Bridgeport


Video News
More In Sports