Three Bucs earn Big 10 Conference swimming honors

Preston Bennett First Team

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneers placed three swimmers on the Big 10 All-Conference team that was released this week.

Buckhannon-Upshur’s Preston Bennett was named to the First Team while Dane Ammons and Sam Squires were named to the Second Team.

During the conference meet, Bennett, a freshman, earned high-point honors and broke two school records winning the 200-yard IM and the 500-yard freestyle.

He was also on two third-place relay teams at the conference meet.

Only three teams were represented on the First Team.

The Bucs placed Bennett there while Bridgeport put six swimmers on the First Team and Robert C. Byrd had the other three.

Ammons placed fourth in the 50-yard freestyle and sixth in the 100-yard freestyle at the conference meet while Squires took third in the 100-yard breaststroke and fourth in the 50-yard freestyle.

Bridgeport claimed both individual awards.

Randy Keener was named the Big 10 Conference Swimmer of the Year while Jay Grisso was selected as the Big 10 Conference Coach of the Year.

Big-10 All-Conference

First Team

Zac Basler – Robert C. Byrd

Preston Bennett – Buckhannon-Upshur

Patrick Fubio – Robert C. Byrd

Jacob Howe – Robert C. Byrd

Randy Keener – Bridgeport

Ryan Knapp – Bridgeport

Phillip Malenich – Bridgeport

Luke Pinti – Bridgeport

Marcel Rodriguez -- Bridgeport

Mason Titchenal – Bridgeport

Second Team

Reese Allen – Bridgeport

Dane Ammons – Buckhannon-Upshur

Adam Fubio – Robert C. Byrd

Matthew Howe – Robert C. Byrd

Ellijah Jones – Elkins

Ivan Looney-Sanders – Elkins

Josh McPherson – East Fairmont

Blake Roessing-Fultineer – East Fairmont

Reed Smith – Bridgeport

Sam Squires – Buckhannon-Upshur

Honorable Mention

Luke Anger – Elkins

Will Angus -- Grafton

Franklin Bush – Fairmont Senior

Rafael Caniello – Elkins

Kirt Drennan – Fairmont Senior

Layne England – Grafton

Braxton Kenney – Elkins

Jacob McMann – North Marion

Luke Nibert — Grafton

Izack Whetsell – Elkins

Swimmer of the Year – Randy Keener (Bridgeport)

Coach of the Year – Jan Grisso (Bridgeport)


Video News
More In Sports