Three Buccaneers earn Big 10 All-Conference basketball honors

Ryan Hurst

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneers landed three players on the 2021 Boys Big 10 All-Conference basketball team.

Senior Ryan Hurst was named to the First Team while junior forward Lamar Hurst and senior forward/center Josh Loudin were selected to the Second Team.

Ryan Hurst, who was honored with Second Team All-State honors last week, led the Bucs in scoring with 17 points per game while leading the team in made-three pointers (54), assists (3.7 per game) and steals (2.0 per game).

Lamar Hurst was second on the team in scoring with 11.2 points per game.

He averaged 5.2 rebounds per contest.

Loudin was third on the team in scoring averaging 9.6 points per game.

He led the team in blocks with 28 and in rebounding with 6.4 rebounds per game.

The Bucs, along with Robert C. Byrd, had the most all-conference selections with three, while Bridgeport, Fairmont Senior, Grafton, Lincoln, and North Marion each had two.

Preston and East Fairmont did not have a player represented on the all-conference teams.

Robert C. Byrd swept the individual awards as Bryson Lucas was named the Big 10 Conference Player of the Year while Bill Bennett was named the Coach of the Year.

Boys Big 10 All-Conference Team

First Team

Ryan Hurst (Sr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Jack Bifano (Sr.) – Bridgeport

Zacheus Dobbs (Fr.) – Fairmont Senior

Jaelin Johnson (Sr.) – Fairmont Senior

Ryan Maier (Jr.) – Grafton

Blake Moore (Sr.) – Grafton

Zach Snyder (Sr.) -- Lincoln

Praise Chukwudozie (Sr.) – North Marion

Bryson Lucas (Sr.) – Robert C. Byrd

Gavin Kennedy (Sr.) – Robert C. Byrd

Second Team

Lamar Hurst (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Josh Loudin (Sr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Mitch Duez (Jr.) – Bridgeport

Mitchell Price (Sr.) – Elkins

Jaycob Smith (Sr.) – Lewis County

Jordan Jones (Sr.) – Liberty

Sam Bart (Jr.) – Lincoln

Tariq Miller (Jr.) – North Marion

Josh Watson (Sr.) – Philip Barbour

Jeremiah King (Jr.) – Robert C. Byrd

Player of the Year – Bryson Lucas (Robert C. Byrd)

Coach of the Year – Bill Bennett (Robert C. Byrd)



Video News
More In Sports