Three Bobcat golfers earn MEC honors

BRIDGEPORT — Glenville State's Kyle Chung headlines the Mountain East Conference Men's Golf honors as the league's Player and Freshman of the Year. Concord's Trent Howard was named the league's Coach of the Year.

The All-MEC teams, along with Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors, were determined by the finish at the MEC Championship conducted last fall.*

Chung, a freshman from Brampton, Ontario, is the first Glenville State player to earn Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors. He led wire-to-wire at last fall's MEC Championship posting a three-day total of 215. His score matched the tournament record and he became the first player in MEC history to have all three rounds at even-par or better.

Additionally, six other players earned a spot on the first team: Noah Clark (Concord), Mitch Hoffman (Charleston), Brett Laxton (Concord), Evan Lewis (Davis & Elkins), Carson Profitt (Concord) and David Scragg (Charleston).

Matthew Barrish (Fairmont State), Ben Knight (Fairmont State), Caleb Moore (West Liberty), Dan Morgret (W.Va. Wesleyan), Howard Peterson (West Liberty) and Patrick Smith (Davis & Elkins) earned MEC second-team recognition. 

Urbana's trio of Zach Petticrew, Luc Toupin (UU), Mark Trochu (UU) earned honorable mention recognition, along with West Virginia Wesleyan's Nick Casingal and Zach Chapman and Fairmont State's Marco Oliverio.

Concord's Trent Howard was selected as the MEC Coach of the Year after helping Concord to the conference title in his first season as head coach -- the third MEC men's golf championship at Concord but its first since 2014. Howard is the first CU men's golf coach to earn Coach of the Year honors. The Mountain Lions had already locked up a berth in the NCAA Tournament and were ranked seventh in the Atlantic Region before the spring season was canceled.

* The MEC's all-conference teams are typically the scoring average from select events in both the fall and spring. Due to the cancellation of spring events, the all-conference teams were selected based on the finish at the conference championship event in October at Glade Springs Resort.

2019-20 All-MEC First Team

Name School Cl. Hometown

Kyle Chung Glenville State Fr. Brampton, Ontario

Noah Clark Concord So. Pearisburg, Va.

Mitch Hoffman Charleston So. Poca, W.Va.

Brett Laxton Concord Jr. Pineville, W.Va.

Evan Lewis Davis & Elkins Fr. Bromsgrove, England

Carson Profitt Concord Fr. Camp Creek, W.Va.

David Scragg Charleston Sr. Poca, W.Va.

2019-20 All-MEC Second Team

Name School Cl. Hometown

Matthew Barrish Fairmont State Fr. Carmichaels, Pa.

Ben Knight Fairmont State Sr. Harrisville, W.Va.

Caleb Moore West Liberty Jr. Spencer, W.Va.

Dan Morgret W.Va. Wesleyan Jr. South Park, Pa.

Howard Peterson West Liberty So. Weirton, W.Va.

Patrick Smith Davis & Elkins So. Beckley, W.Va.

2019-20 All-MEC Honorable Mention

Nick Casingal (WVWC), Zach Chapman (WVWC), Marco Oliverio (FAIR), Zach Petticrew (UU), Luc Toupin (UU), Mark Trochu (UU)

Player of the Year: Kyle Chung (Glenville State)

Freshman of the Year: Kyle Chung (Glenville State)

Coach of the Year: Trent Howard (Concord)


Video News
More In Sports