Tennis Bobcats down Fairmont State for MEC regular season championship

MEC Regular Season Champions! — The West Virginia Wesleyan men’s tennis team just wrapped up the MEC regular season title with a 7-0 win over Fairmont State. The Bobcats are, front row: Carlos Dodero. Back row, left to right: is Maycon Dias, Anthony Rames, Christos Kyrillou, Harry Simaioforidis, Lukas Laipold, Marko Golac and Thomas McIntosh. Not pictured is Alex Lyudinovskiy.

BUCKHANNON — The West Virginia Wesleyan Bobcats clinched another regular season Mountain East Conference title with a 7-0 victory over Fairmont State University here Tuesday.

The Bobcats swept all seven of their matches, dropping only two sets on the day.

Carlos Dodero and Harry Simaioforidis both needed third sets to finish off their matches, while Lukas Laipold, Maycon Santos Dias, Alexander Lyudinovskiy, and Thomas McIntosh each won in straight sets.

The ‘Cats, 12-5 overall and 6-0 in MEC play, will finish the conference schedule today at Concord University.

Wesleyan can do no worse than a tie for the MEC regular season championship, and will be the top seed for the conference tournament.

The Mountain East Conference men’s tennis championship will be  played in Huntington on May 3-5, at Marshall University’s David Fox Courts.

The Bobcats have now won or shared four consecutive regular season titles and are the two-time defending tournament champions.

“We are getting a little closer to our potential, and today was a step in the right direction,” said head coach Marc Walters. “We really need matches and good weather together, so we can get some momentum and toughness.”

Wesleyan 7            Fairmont State 0


No. 1 – Lukas Laipold (WVWC) def. Joao Lucas Alves 6-1, 6-4

No. 2 – Carlos Dodero (WVWC) def. Guilherme Pachane 7-5, 1-6, 1-0(7)

No. 3 –  Maycon Santos Dias (WVWC) def. Joao Martins 6-3, 6-4

No. 4 –  Alex Lyudinovskiy (WVWC) def. Ryan Leo 6-2, 6-2

No. 5 – Charalampos Simaioforidis (WVWC)  def. Tom Liddy 6-3, 4-6, 6-1

No. 6 – Thomas McIntosh (WVWC) def. Drew Hawthorne 6-2, 6-3


No. 1 – Maycon Santos Dias / Carlos Dodero (WVWC) def. Guilherme Pachane / Joao Martins 6-4

No. 2 – Charalampos Simaioforidis / Christos Kyrillou (WVWC) def. Drew Hawthorne / Ryan Leo 6-2

No. 3 – Lukas Laipold / Thomas McIntosh (WVWC) def. Joao Lucas Alves / Tom Liddy 6-2


Video News
More In Sports