Squires named to First Team, Griffith HM selection on Big 10 All-Swim Team

TENNERTON – Buckhannon-Upshur’s Sam Squires and Drew Griffith were named to the 2018-2019 Big 10 All-Conference teams that were announced recently.

Squires was selected to the First Team while Griffith was named to the Honorable Mention list.

Squires, a sophomore, took home second and fourth-place finishes individually in the Big 10 Conference meet.

He took second in the 100-yard breaststroke and fourth in the 50-yard freestyle.

He was also part of two relay teams, the 200-yard freestyle and 200-yard medley, that earned a fourth and a fifth.

Bridgeport placed six swimmers on the First Team while the Bucs, Philip Barbour, Robert C. Byrd and Fairmont Senior each had one.

Griffith, the lone senior on the team, took seventh at the conference meet in the 100-yard butterfly and 13th in the 50-yard freestyle.

He was also part of the two relay teams.

Bridgeport won the Big 10 Conference title while Elkins was second.

Buckhannon-Upshur finished fifth in the team standings.

Randy Abruzzino of Fairmont Senior was named the Big 10 Swimmer of the Year while Bridgeport’s Jam Grisso was selected as Big 10 Coach of the Year.



Gabriel Arevalo – Philip Barbour

Zac Basler – Robert C. Byrd

John Carter – Bridgeport

Court Ciemania – Fairmont Senior

Randy Keener – Bridgeport

Philip Malenich – Bridgeport

Luke Pinti – Bridgeport

Marcel Rodriguez – Bridgeport

Viktor Rodriguez – Bridgeport

Sam Squires – Buckhannon-Upshur


Patrick Fubio – Robert C. Byrd

Gabriel Howe – Robert C. Byrd

Matt Howe – Robert C. Byrd

Ryan Knapp – Bridgeport

Ivan Looney-Sanders – Elkins

Kyle Malcolm – Bridgeport

Blake Roessing-Fultineer – East Fairmont

Cam Smith – Fairmont Senior

Reed Smith -- Bridgeport

Austin Whetsell – Elkins


Reese Allen — Bridgeport

Luke Anger – Elkins

Brock Freeman – Philip Barbour

Drew Griffith – Buckhannon-Upshur

Elijah Jones – Elkins

Luke Nibert – Grafton

Jacob Wentz – Bridgeport

Orrin Jones – Elkins

Swimmer of the Year – Randy Abruzzino (Fairmont Senior)

Coach of the Year – Jan Grisso (Bridgeport)


Video News
More In Sports