Soccer Lady Bucs place five on WVHSSCA All-Region I Team

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Buc soccer team placed five players on the WVHSSCA AAA Girls 2018 All-Region I squad.

Seniors Madison Ware and Audrey Gaudet were named to the First Team while seniors Leigh Ann Bennett and Peyton Carlyle and junior Brooklyn Maxwell were selected to the Second Team.

Both Ware and Gaudet were four-year starters for the Lady Bucs.

Ware, a senior forward played in 17 games and scored 12 goals and had eight assists despite missing three games with a concussion.

Gaudet, one of the premier defenders in the state,  tallied two goals and one assist and played in all 20 games for the Lady Bucs from her center defender position.

Bennett and Maxwell both earned their honors at the midfield position.

Bennett scored three goals and owned three assists for the Lady Bucs while Maxwell racked up seven goals and 15 assists.

Carlyle, also a defensive standout for the Lady Bucs, didn’t score this season.

Region I is made up of seven teams – Buckhannon-Upshur, Brooke, John Marshall, Morgantown, Preston, University and Wheeling Park.

Wheeling Park landed five players on the First Team while Morgantown had four.

The Player of the Year for Region I went to Morgantown’s Sammie Brown while the Coach of the Year was Wheeling Park’s Carrie Hanna.

Earlier this week, Gaudet and Ware were named to the All-Big 10 Conference First Team while Bennett was a Second Team selection.



Madison Ware – Buckhannon-Upshur

Anna Iquinto – Morgantown

Abbey Anderson – Wheeling Park

Ari Christiansen – University


Sammie Brown – Morgantown

Alysssa Weaver – Morgantown

Gracelyn Hanna – Wheeling Park

Emma Delk – Wheeling Park


Audrey Gaudet – Buckhannon-Upshur

Sydney Davis – Preston

Annalese Aderholt – Wheeling Park

Stephanie Chmiel – University


Jordan August – Morgantown

Deanna Crumm – Wheeling Park

Corinne Grabow – University



Megan Noss – Preston


Lydia Buchmelter – Brooke

Leigh Ann Bennett – Buckhannon-Upshur

Brooklyn Maxwell – Buckhannon-Upshur

Kendra Bolinger – Preston

Talia Goodwin – Preston

Kassidy Wolfe – University


Brooke Ohler – Brooke

Peyton Carlyle – Buckhannon-Upshur

Sheridan Southall – Morgantown

Ally Bender – University


Kinley Manko — Preston

Player of the Year — Sammie Brown (Morgantown)

Coach of the Year — Carrie Hanna (Wheeling Park)

Video News
More In Sports