Ryan Hurst, Lamar Hurst secure Big 10 All-Conference hoop honors

Ryan Hurst — Big 10 All-Conference First Team

TENNERTON – The name Hurst shows up not once, but twice on the Big 10 All-Conference Boys’ Basketball Team for the Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneers.

Junior point guard Ryan Hurst was selected to the First Team while his brother, sophomore forward Lamar Hurst, was selected to the Second Team.

Ryan led the team in scoring, assists, steals and free throw percentage as he started all 23 games for the Bucs.

He averaged 16.6 points per game while adding 99 assists (4.3 per game) and 42 steals (1.8 per game).

He paced the team in free throw percentage at 80.7 percent making 46 of his 57 attempts.

He also averaged 3.9 rebounds per contests and had one double-double on the season.

Lamar was second on the team in scoring, averaging 10.0 points per game as he played in 23 games, starting 15 of them.

He was second on the team in blocks with 20.

He hauled down 101 rebounds for a 4.4 rebounding average while dishing out 30 assists and collecting 16 steals.

Lamar was just one of three sophomores to garner All-Conference honors.

The Buccaneers posted a 12-11 record during the 2019-20 season.

Robert C. Byrd and North Marion both landed two players on the First Team.

Bryson Lucas and Khori Miles made the First Team for Robert C. Byrd while Gunner Murphy and Praise Chuckwodozie were named to the First Team for North Marion.

Robert C. Byrd also swept the individual awards.

Lucas was named the Player of the Year while Bill Bennett was tabbed as Coach of the Year.

Bennett’s Eagles lost their first two games of the year then won 22 straight for a 22-2 record.

They were scheduled to host the Braxton County Eagles in a regional final for a berth to the state tournament before the season was postponed by the coronavirus.

Big 10 All-Conference Team

First Team

Praise Chuckwodozie – North Marion

Kyle Gannon – Lewis County

Jack Faulkner – Grafton

Ryan Hurst – Buckhannon-Upshur

Jaelin Johnson – Fairmont Senior

Bryson Lucas – Robert C. Byrd

Khori Miles – Robert C. Byrd

Gunner Murphy – North Marion

Nick Smith – Preston

Zach Snyder -- Lincoln

Nick Stalnaker – Bridgeport

Second Team

Jack Bifano – Bridgeport

Jaden Fultz – Preston

Blake Harris – Elkins

Lamar Hurst – Buckhannon-Upshur

Gavin Kennedy – Robert C. Byrd

Ryan Leep – Lincoln

Ryan Maier – Grafton

Jesiah Matlick – Philip Barbour

Luke Pollock – East Fairmont

Asa Post – Lewis County

Player of the Year – Bryson Lucas (Robert C. Byrd)

Coach of the Year – Bill Bennett (Robert C. Byrd)


Video News
More In Sports