Queen, Zuliani and Samargo honored on WVHSSCA All State Second Team

TENNERTON – A pair of Buckhannon-Upshur midfielders and one defender made their way onto the 2020 West Virginia High School Soccer Coaches Association (WVHSSCA) Class AAA All State Girls Team.

Senior Maggie Queen and junior Cameron Zuliani earned Second Team honors as midfielders while senior Kennedy Samargo was selected on the Second Team as a defender.

All three players were recently chosen earlier in the week to the WVHSSCA All-Region I First Team.

Queen and Zuliani led the Lady Bucs in scoring with 12 goals apiece.

Zuliani also led the squad in assists with 12 while Queen added seven.

From her defensive back position, Samargo was credited with two assists and was a shutdown defender for the Lady Buc defense that posted three shutouts.

Samargo is a repeat on the WVHSSCA All State Team as she earned Second Team honors last year.

The Lady Bucs of head coach Jackie Zuliani finished the year with a 9-4-1 record.

Seven players from the super competitive Region I were named to the First Team while five were named to the Second Team and four were named to the Honorable Mention squad.

Three freshmen were named to the WVHSSCA First Team – Merritt Delk of Wheeling Park, Lily Hanna of Wheeling Park and Riley Shockey of Parkersburg while one, Emma Shields of Cabell Midland earned Second Team honors and one, Carissa Ring of Spring Mills, was named to the Honorable Mention squad.

Graceylyn Hanna of Wheeling Park was named the Player of the Year; Olivia Charles of Cabell Midland was selected as Forward of the Year; Emma Dotson of Greenbrier East and Ellie Foggin of Parkersburg South were named the Co-Midfielders of the Year, Regan Bailey of George Washington and Abby Fowler of Hurricane were selected as the Co-Defenders of the Year and Kendal Mader of Parkersburg South was named the Keeper of the Year.

Wheeling Park’s Carrie Hanna was named the Coach of the Year.

The West Virginia Sports Writers Association (WVSWA) will release their All-State team later this month.





Oliva Charles (Soph.) – Cabell Midland

Merritt Delk (Fr.) – Wheeling Park

Anna Iquinto (Sr.) – Morgantown

Braelynne Sandreth (Sr.) – Bridgeport

Zara Zervos (Sr.) – John Marshall


Emily Beck (Sr.) – Martinsburg

Emma Dotson (Sr.) – Greenbrier East

Ellie Foggin (Sr.) – Parkersburg South

Graceylyn Hanna (Sr.) – Wheeling Park

Samara Nunn (Jr.) – Parkersburg South

Alyssa Weaver (Sr.) – Morgantown


Tristen Bright (Sr.) – University

Reagan Bromiley (Jr.) – George Washington

Abby Fowler (Sr.) – Hurricane

Lily Hanna (Fr.) – Wheeling Park

Riley Shockey (Fr.) – Parkersburg


Kendal Mader (Sr.) – Parkersburg South



Maggie Bartenslager (Sr.) – Greenbrier East

Ellie Cunningham (Sr.) – Jefferson

Aubree Flint (Sr.) – Ripley

Linsey Hackney (Jr.) – Lincoln County

Angelina Musilli (Jr.) – George Washington

Madison Spears (Sr.) – Parkersburg

Maya Taggart (Jr.) – Wheeling Park


Colby Agnor (Sr.) – Woodrow Wilson

Allison Bender (Jr.) – Bridgeport

Laken Dye (Sr.) – Princeton

Kalissa Lacy (Sr.) – George Washington

Maggie Queen (Sr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Ava Trethewey (Soph.) – George Washington

Cameron Zuliani (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur


Elizabeth Hausafus (Sr.) – Martinsburg

Jalen Nicely (Sr.) – Huntington

Kennedy Samargo (Sr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Emma Shields (Fr.) – Cabell Midland

Morgan Wills (Sr.) – Oak Hill


Olivia Bird (Sr.) – Hurricane

Ava Dardaris (Sr.) – Washington



Alena Armstrong (Soph.) – Riverside

Kiya Babkirk (Sr.) – Oak Hill

Kami Cool (Jr.) – Spring Mills

Delaney David (Sr.) – Spring Valley

Hailey Dillow (Sr.) – Jefferson

Emma Lipscomb (Sr.) – Riverside

Chloe Miller (Soph.) – Washington

Brooke O’Her (Jr.) – Brooke

Carissa Ring (Fr.) – Spring Mills

Haylee Herman (Soph.) – Martinsburg


Lorelei Bangit (Soph.) – Jefferson

Elaina Blickenstaff (Sr.) – Cabell Midland

Jenna Carpenter (Soph.) – Parkersburg

Lauren Dye (Soph.) – Hurricane

Leah Goben (Sr.) – Washington

Grace Lochner (Soph.) – Jefferson

Kadence Lucas (Soph.) – Oak Hill

Lauren Sexton (Sr.) – Spring Valley

Morgan Stauver (Sr.) – Wheeling Park


Jaylea Carr (Sr.) – Martinsburg

Cecily Dyer (Sr.) – Washington

Jannai Flumoku (Sr.) – Washington

Mallory Hobbs (Soph.) – Jefferson

Brianna Holston (Sr.) – Martinsburg

Kaya Houghland (Sr.) – Princeton

Erin McClelland (Sr.) – Preston

Macy Menefee (Soph.) – Capital


Ally Arthu (Soph.) – Woodrow Wilson

Sadie Boggess (Jr.) – Princeton

Kiran Cole (Jr.) – Spring Mills

Mackenzie Randolph (Sr.) – Bridgeport

Coach of the Year – Carrie Hanna (Wheeling Park)

Player of the Year – Graceylyn Hanna (Wheeling Park)

Forward of the Year – Olivia Charles (Cabell Midland)

Co-Midfielders of the Year – Emma Dotson (Greenbrier East) and Ellie Foggin (Parkersburg South)

Co-Defenders of the Year – Regan Bailey (George Washington) and Abby Fowler (Hurricane)

Keeper of the Year – Kendal Mader (Parkersburg South)



Video News
More In Sports