Pugh earns Big-10 Conference cheerleading honors

Dezi Pugh

TENNERTON – The Big 10 Conference recently released its 2019-20 All-Conference cheerleading team.

A total of 21 ladies were honored on the on the all-conference team, including one Buckhannon-Upshur cheerleader.

Representing Buckhannon-Upshur on the all-conference squad was freshman Dezi Pugh.

“The award is well deserved,” remarked Buckhannon-Upshur cheerleading coach Christina Nestor. “Dezi is your ideal athlete and she strives to be the best on the floor. She also succeeds in the classroom and goes above and beyond what you ask and is developing into an amazing cheerleader and young adult.”

Even more impressive for Pugh is she earned all-conference honors as a freshman.

“As a freshman, you have to emerge as a future leader and prove you’ve got what it takes to excel,” stated Nestor. “Dezi checks all those boxes. With her determination and the help of her fellow cheerleaders watch out, Buckhannon-Upshur, cheerleading is on the move.”

Lincoln headlined the team with four members – KayLea Cook, Kaylle Joyce, Halli Toothman and Avery Riley.

Liberty added three cheerleaders to the squad while Fairmont Senior, Grafton, Preston and Robert C. Byrd each had two on the team.

Lincoln’s Amanda Brown was named the Big 10 Conference Coach of the Year.

2019-2020 Big 10

All-Conference Cheer Team

Dezi Pugh – Buckhannon Upshur

Samantha Crookshanks – East Fairmont

Tessa Martin – Elkins

Gracie Lamb – Fairmont Senior

Paytyn Neal – Fairmont Senior

Abby Rucker – Grafton

Jenna Wright – Grafton

Taylor McDougal – Lewis County

Kaitlin Nutter – Liberty

Jordyn Hustead – Liberty

Madison Criss – Liberty

Halli Toothman – Lincoln

Avery Riley – Lincoln

KayLea Cook – Lincoln

Kaylee Joyce – Lincoln

Jaylen Schell – North Marion

Lexie Leach – Philip Barbour

Ashley Belanger – Preston

Carli Chipps – Preston

Kaleigha Hollins – Robert C. Byrd

Azaria Michael – Robert C. Byrd


Video News
More In Sports