Patty Wager named Boys Big 10 Conference Head Coach of the Year

Patty Wager, show here celebrating Buckhannon-Upshur’s championship in the Big 10 Conference Meet with members of the team, was recently named the Big 10 Conference Boys Head Coach of the Year.

TENNERTON – Patty Wager, head coach of the Buckhannon-Upshur track and field Buccaneers, was named the Big 10 Conference Boys Coach of the Year.

This is the second time she has been given this honor, winning it last in 2016.

“The honor should really go to the team because they soundly defeated Bridgeport for the conference title,” said Wager. “We won the title by 36 points because we had so many boys in events and they were able to pick up points for their efforts.”

The Bucs won seven conference titles claiming four individual wins and three relay victories.

The Bucs won two running events with Shawn Blandino taking the 400-meter dash in 51.60 and Damien Claypool winning the 110-meter hurdles in 17.00.

Picking up first in the field events were Julius Hobbs in the pole vault clearing 10-00 and Dirk Riley taking first in the discus with a throw of 112-07.

The foursome of Zach Barcus, Blandino, Sterlin Thropp and Camden Snyder won the 4x100-meter relay with a time of 46.25, the quartet of Thropp, Milo Baumann, Julian Larcher and Hobbs claimed the 4x400-meter relay and the unit of Barcus, Zade Woody, Claypool and Dakota Smith won the 4x100-meter shuttle hurdles with a time of 1:06.15.

“I also want to thank my assistant coaches, Sloan Baisden and Michael Meadows, with them these boys would not have won,” concluded Wager.



Video News
More In Sports