No Buccaneers selected for North-South All-Star football game

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur football Buccaneers were shut out of having a player named on the annual North-South football roster.

The all-star game is still scheduled for June 13 at South Charleston High School.

The Bucs, who finished 1-9, won’t have a player in the game despite having two players earn all-state honors this past fall.

They were quarterback/cornerback senior Ryan Strader and offensive and defensive senior lineman Ryan Smith.

Strader earned Special Team Honorable Mention honors while Smith earned Honorable Mention honors.

The Big 10 will be represented with 11 players on the North squad.

They are Lewis County’s Jared Griffith (K) and Nic Kuhn (WR/DB), North Marion’s Gunner Murphy (QB) and Trent Hlusko (LB), East Fairmont’s Dom Postlewait (WR/DB), Liberty’s Seth McIntire, Fairmont Senior’s Nate Kowalski (OL/DE), Dom Owens (OL/DL), and Lance Payton (OL), Robert C. Byrd’s Brock Robey (OL) and Bridgeport’s Michael Watkins (OL/DL).

Director Bob Mullett said the game is still scheduled to go on if schools will eventually reopen by May.

North Bears All-Star roster:

Brandon Penn – Parkersburg South, QB/DB

Malachi Brown – Martinsburg, WR/DB

Jarod Bowie – Martinsburg, RB/WR/DB

Jared Griffith – Lewis County, K

Dawson Tingler – Petersburg, TE/DE

Corbin Pierson – Jefferson, QB

Nic Kuhn – Lewis County, WR/DB

Elijah Gillette – Weir, WR/DB

Xavier Morris – Wheeling Park, WR/DB

Jeff Tucker – Parkersburg South, H/DE

Devin Heath – Hedgesville, WR/DB

Gunner Murphy – North Marion, QB

Dylan Day – Parkersburg South, WR/DB

Landon McFadden – So. Harrison, UT/DB

Michael Lemley – Oak Glen, WR/DB

Trent Hlusko – North Marion, LB

Brennen Seacrist – Madonna, WR/DB

Jeb Boice – Parkersburg Catholic, RB/LB

Hunter America – Doddridge, RB/DB

Max Camilletti – Brooke, RB/DB

Zach Taylor – Oak Glen, WR/LB

Logan Raber – University, RB/LB

Dom Postlewait – East Fairmont, WR/DB

Seth McIntire – Liberty-Harrison, RB/LB

Jalen Brunny – Park. Catholic, H/DE

Nate Kowalski – Fairmont Senior, OL/DE

Jack Saines – Wheeling Park, OL

Don Woodworth – Keyser, OL/DL

Dom Owens – Fairmont Senior, OL/DL

Jackson Biser – Keyser, TE/LB

Ty Lucas – Martinsburg, OL/DL

Lance Payton – Fairmont Senior, OL

Brock Robey- Robert C. Byrd, OL

Corey Shaffer – Jefferson, OL/DL

Cole James – Doddridge, OL/DL

Michael Watkins – Bridgeport, OL/DL

South Cardinals All-Star roster:

Chase Berry – Chapmanville, QB

Gunner Harmon – Wayne, QB

Ethan Varney – Tug Valley, QB/DB

Monroe Mohler – James Monroe, QB/DB

Liam Fultineer – Mt. View, OL

Tanner Jenkins – Wyoming East, OL

Ian McKinney- Shady Spring, OL

Hunter McMicken – Van, OL

Ian Pomeroy – Beckley, OL

Caden Easterling – Riverside, RB

Cameron Foster – Nitro, RB

Marion Lawson – Greenbrier East, RB/DL

Xander Castillo – James Monroe, WR/DB

Drew Hatfield – Mingo Central, WR

Kyle King – Greenbrier East, WR/DB

Alex Mazelon – George Washington, WR

Quentin Moody – ManWR/DB

Matt Stone – Poca, TE/DE

Logan Vance – Clay, WR

Bomani Brooks – Hurricane, DL

Marcell Guy – Independence, OL/DL

Cameron Lovejoy – Buffalo, DL

Andrew Preast – G. Washington, OL/DL

Stone Sartin – Tolsia, DL

Jacob Anthony – Ravenswood, LB

Ben Kee – Herbert Hoover, LB

Houston Scott – Greenbrier East, LB

Gavin Shamblin – Sissonville, FB/LB

Logan Spurlock – Capital, LB

Austin Stephenson – Riverside, LB

Tay Calloway – Capital, RB/DB

Haven Chapman – Shady Spring, DB

Zach Frye – Man, DB

Hayden Hass – Cabell Midland, DB

Isaiah Osborne – Riverside, DB

Erick Bevil – Shady Spring, K/P


Video News
More In Sports