Nine Bucs earn WVSLA Division 2 All-State honors

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneer lacrosse team landed nine players on the WVSLA Division 2 Boys’ All-State Team.

The Bucs put one on the First Team as junior John Hayes was named to the All-State team as a goalie.

Buckhannon-Upshur also had one player made Second Team as junior Luke Bohnsack was named as a midfielder. Bohnsack also earned Honorable Mention honors as a face off specialist.

Other Honorable Mention honors went to seniors Trapper Samples and Ryder Tyson as attackers, junior Clay Ware and sophomores Kaleb Roby and Nathan Smith and midfielders, Branson Carpenter and Dalton Atwell as defenders.

“I am proud of each and every one of them for all the hard work they put in this year,” remarked Buckhannon-Upshur head coach Jeff Probst. “It has been an honor to coach this group of boys and I hope this accomplishment inspires them to continue to work toward all of their goals.”

Martinsburg’s Neil Troppman was named Coach of the Year while Patrick Grillo of Putnam County LC was named Assistant Coach of the Year.

WVSLA Division 2

Boys All State Team



Gage Bailey - Junior - Putnam County LC

Jack Cushwa - Senior - Martinsburg

Logan Troppman - Freshman - Martinsburg


J.R. Newman - Senior - Putnam County LC

Toby Cooper - Senior - Martinsburg

Ben Lapole - Junior - Musselman

Long Stick Midfield

Bryce Carnes - Junior - Harrison County LC

Face Off Specialist

Tyler Burke - Junior - Martinsburg


Sutton Taylor - Junior - Martinsburg

Jeremy Appiah - Senior - Martinsburg

Brady Chrisman - Senior - Musselman


John Hayes - Junior - Buckhannon-Upshur



Isaiah West - Junior - Harrison County LC

Riley Thunderhawk - Senior - Musselman

Tyler Waddell - Junior - Musselman


Luke Bohnsack - Junior - Buckhannon-Upshur

Jacob Lathwell - Junior - Martinsburg

Will Swift - Freshman - Martinsburg

Long Stick Midfield

Jayden Mitchell - Senior - Capital

Face Off Specialist

Ty Cato - Senior – Capital


Christian Gist - Senior - Capital

Willie Grillo - Junior - Putnam County LC

Grant Sizemore - Junior - Putnam County LC


Austin Elswick - Senior - Putnam County LC




Trapper Samples - Senior - Buckhannon-Upshur

Ryder Tyson - Senior - Buckhannon-Upshur

Ryan Pittman - Senior - Capital

Wyatt Palmer - Sophomore - Capital

Nate Sutton - Sophomore - Martinsburg

Riley Land - Freshman - Preston

Chase Newhouse - Senior - Putnam County LC


Clay Ware - Junior - Buckhannon-Upshur

Kaleb Roby - Sophomore - Buckhannon-Upshur

Nathan Smith - Sophomore - Buckhannon-Upshur

Alex Brandon - Senior - Capital

Jerome Whitfield - Senior - Capital

Caden Leonette - Senior - Harrison County LC

James Beston - Junior - Harrison County LC

Ethan Neel - Junior - Harrison County LC

Merrill Gainer - Senior - Martinsburg

Carson Casto - Senior - Putnam County LC

Zach Erlandson - Junior - Putnam County LC

Will Raines - Junior - Saint Albans

Long Stick Midfield

Bryce Carnes - Junior - Harrison County LC

Jack Stone - Senior - Martinsburg

J.J. Townsend - Senior - Preston

Marshall Christus - Freshman - Putnam County LC

Face Off Specialist

Luke Bohnsack - Junior - Buckhannon-Upshur

Ayden Holbert - Junior - Saint Albans


Branson Carpenter - Junior - Buckhannon-Upshur

Dalton Atwell - Sophomore - Buckhannon-Upshur

Garrett Gibson - Senior - Capital

Casey Boggs - Junior - Capital

Kasten Caniford - Senior - Martinsburg

Nathanael Lathwell - Sophomore - Martinsburg

Daniel Foster - Freshman - Martinsburg

Ryan Wilson - Senior - Preston

Dalton Cupp - Senior - Putnam County LC


David Haynes - Freshman - Capital

Lucas Murphy - Sophomore - Harrison County LC

Jared Foster - Senior - Martinsburg

Colin Parker - Freshman - Martinsburg

James Carmichael - Sophomore - Musselman

Coach of the Year

Neil Troppman - Martinsburg

Assistant Coach of the Year

Patrick Grillo - Putnam County LC



Video News
More In Sports