New group of B-UHS students join National Honor Society

TENNERTON — Twenty-five new students were added to the Buckhannon-Upshur High School National Honor Society roles recently.
Membership in the B-UHS honor society is earned through effective demonstration of the four qualities that serve as standards for the society, according to chapter president Emily King at the induction ceremony.
King lit the flame of knowledge which then led to vice president Haley Gompers lighting the scholarship candle, secretary Abi Rickman the leadership candle, treasurer Kelsey Burgess, the service candle and historian Hannah Eshelman, the character candle.
The students then took the pledge: “I will strive to be at all times a model student. And will never knowingly bring reproach upon my school. I pledge myself to uphold a high purpose of this society for which I have been selected, striving in every way by word and deed to make its ideals of any school and of my life.”
B-UHS president Eddie Vincent said, “On behalf of the faculty and staff, I would like to congratulate all the members of the Buckhannon-Upshur National Honor Society. This is a tremendous honor and it’s an achievement. It means that people have noticed your hard work, your dedication, your service and your character. I often say that the best indicator of future success is past success. I have no doubt that those students will be very successful in the future.”
The 2017-2018 inductees are Samantha Barlow, Lauren Bennett, Carsen Blake, Cody Carpenter, Sean Crites, Kason Currence, Alex Edwards, McKinley Gaudet, Luke Leigh, Desirae Lindow, Jenna Marple, Sydney Maxwell, Hanna McClung, Benjamin Nolte, Cameron Payne, Bryce Pearson, Makayla Reynolds, Kelsey Rhodes, Lauren Stewart, Abbie Tomasula, Christopher Tonkin, Ivy Ward, Brandon Ware, Taylor Whitehair and Kallista Winemiller. Mindy Dawson serves as advisor.

More In Local News