New BOE members take Oath of Office

TENNERTON — Three new Upshur County Board of Education members, Roy Wager, Sherry Dean, and Jan Craig, took their Oath of Office during the swearing in ceremony at the board of education (BOE) meeting on Wednesday, July 6. In the Primary Election, Roy Wager received 1,804 votes; Sherry Dean received 1,776 votes; and Jan Craig received 1,188.

Wager, Dean and Craig were sworn in by Upshur County Circuit Court Judge Jacob E. Reger. Each new board member was called to the front and was instructed to raise their right hand, while their left hand was placed on the Bible. The Bible was held by Upshur County Schools Superintendent Dr. Sara Lewis-Stankus.

Jan Craig was sworn in first, followed by Sherry Dean and then Roy Wager. The new board members were instructed to repeat after Judge Reger the following statement, “I (state name) do solemnly swear that I will report the Constitution of the Unites States of America and the Constitution of the State of West Virginia and that I will faithfully discharge the duties of the office of board member of the Upshur County Board of Education to the best of my skill and judgement so help me God.”

Following each individual’s oath Judge Reger exclaimed a congratulations and a handshake. Many of the new members’ family was present as well for the ceremony. After the Oath of Office ceremony, the new members took their seats and began their first meeting began.

One of the first items on the agenda was to elect BOE President. Dr. Tammy Samples was voted to continue as President with a motion made by Jan Craig and the second by Patrick Long. Next, was the election of Vice President in which Roy Wager nominated Jan Craig and Dr. Samples nominated Patrick Long. Each individual had received two votes and the decision came down to Jan Craig who voted in favor of herself and the motion carried. A member was also elected to serve on the Fred Eberle Technical Center Administrative Council. Patrick Long was nominated and motion was made by Sherry Dean and the second by Roy Wager. A member was also voted to serve on the Stocker Youth Center Board of Directors. Dr. Tammy Samples has been serving in this capacity and informed the other members she would like to continue. A motion was made by Patrick Long and seconded by Sherry Dean for Dr. Tammy Samples to continue. Sherry Dean noted she wanted to serve on the Upshur County Public Library Board of Directors and the motion was made by Jan Craig and seconded by Patrick Long. Roy Wager noted he would like to serve on the Upshur County Parks and Recreation Advisory Board and a motion was made by Patrick Long and seconded by Jan Craig.

Members will serve in the above capacities for a period of two years with the effective date of Friday, July 1, 2022, through Sunday, June 30, 2024.


Video News
More In Homepage