Mountain East Conference announces post-season spring football awards

BRIDGEPORT ­— Mountain East Conference football champion Notre Dame claimed two of the league's top honors and placed 20 players on the All-MEC first and second teams, the league announced today.

NDC's Tabyus Taylor was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year after rushing for over 1,000 yards with 12 touchdowns in the five-game season.

First-year head coach Mickey Mental was tabbed as the league Coach of the Year after leading the Falcons to the conference championship.

Frostburg State's Zach Strand was voted as the MEC Defensive Player of the Year after leading the league in solo tackles for a loss (7) and solo sacks (4) from his spot on the defensive line.

UNC Pembroke had a pair of freshmen earn top honors in Jai'Veon Smalls (Offensive Freshman of the Year) and Dante Bowlding (Defensive Freshman of the Year).

In addition to the individual awards, the league also announced the All-MEC teams. The all-conference teams and individual award winners are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

Spring 2021 MEC Individual Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Tabyus Taylor (Notre Dame)

Offensive Freshman of the Year: Jai'Veon Smalls (UNC Pembroke)

Defensive Player of the Year: Zach Strand (Frostburg State)

Defensive Freshman of the Year: Dante Bowling (UNC Pembroke)

Coach of the Year: Mickey Mental (Notre Dame)

Spring 2021 All-MEC First Team


Pos. Name School

QB Josh Jones UNC Pembroke

QB Guy Myers Charleston

RB Tyreik McAllister Charleston

RB Tabyus Taylor Notre Dame

RB Quincy Wimbish West Liberty

WR Kyle Belack Frostburg State

WR Devanaire Conliffe Notre Dame

WR Marquis McCoy Charleston

TE Zaire Mitchell Notre Dame

FB/HB Nate Forte F rostburg State

OL Gottlieb Ayedze Frostburg State

OL Nick Beans Notre Dame

OL Jimmy Burchett Notre Dame

OL Greg Gaines Frostburg State

OL Brandon Nicholson Notre Dame


DL Savion Davis Notre Dame

DL BJ Faniran Charleston

DL Noah Harris Lyles Notre Dame

DL Carl Igweh Frostburg State

DL Jack Kosko Notre Dame

DL Zach Strand Frostburg State

LB Jake Broschart Frostburg State

LB Dustin Crouser W.Va. State

LB Keon Freeman Charleston

LB Guam Lee Notre Dame

LB Nate Moore Notre Dame

DB Kei Beckham Charleston

DB Tavon Hooks Notre Dame

DB Devin Jones UNC Pembroke

DB Ibrahim Sesay W.Va. State

DB Bryce Shepphert Notre Dame


P Owen Rozanc  West Liberty

K Tanner Harding Notre Dame

KR/PR Devin Jones UNC Pembroke

Spring 2021 All-MEC Second Team


QB Chris Brimm Notre Dame

RB Sy Alli Wheeling RB Joe Early UNC Pembroke RB Dante Jones W.Va. State RB Dymier Still Alderson Broaddus

WR Trey Dixon UNC Pembroke

WR Zay Huff Glenville State

WR Ryan LaFollette Wheeling

WR Jai'Veon Smalls UNC Pembroke

TE Will Hall Frostburg State

FB/HB Kyle Ritz West Liberty

OL Gage Baldwin UNC Pembroke

OL Michael Kyle Notre Dame

OL Elbert Munn Charleston

OL Tariq Parkings Charleston

OL Francisco Pedrozo West Liberty

OL Adam Riegler Notre Dame


DL David Gilcreast West Liberty DL Eliah Goodman Charleston

DL Ben Jaramillo UNC Pembroke DL Masanka Kanku UNC Pembroke DL Kendell Robinson W.Va. State LB Dylan Culpen Frostburg State LB Dalton Hoover Wheeling

LB Clay McDonald West Liberty LB Michael Perry Charleston

LB Kenjae Rose Charleston

LB Dylan Spaeth Notre Dame DB Reggie Collins Charleston

DB Koty Hudson West Liberty DB Jason Mitchell West Liberty DB Tyleeke Smith Alderson Broaddus DB Rich White Wheeling

DB DeVonte Whitt Charleston


P Dominic Buttazzoni Notre Dame K Tim McCutcheon Charleston  KR/PR Andre Allen Notre Dame

Spring 2021 All-MEC Honorable Mention

QB: Graham Walker (FROST)

FB/HB: Brady Kolb (WU)

WR: Shammond Hicks (UNCP), Barry Hill (WVSU), Malik Morris (FROST)

TE: Tristan Ballard (WU)

OL: Brandon Dillard (FROST), Aaron Hess (WU), Zach Lyons (AB), Donnie McColister (UC) Ian Pomeroy (GSC), Cade Raudebaugh (WU), Andres Sagastume (WVSU)

DL: Jordan Gardener (WU), Ellis Lilly (GSC), Brandon Munoz (WU), Rudy Ngougni (NDC)

LB: Ryan Gorman (WU), Sawyer Koons (AB), Ryan Shelton (FROST), Jason Simon (WU)

DB: Dante Bowlding (UNCP), Jermichael Isom (WU), Dane Lynch (GSC), Ron Salter (NDC), Josiah Wright (WU)

P: Shawn Bliss (FROST)

K: Dayne Koontz (FROST)

KR/PR: Chris Canady (WU)



Video News
More In Sports