MEC announces Women’s All-MEC Lacrosse Team

BRIDGEPORT — Charleston's Elisha Davis and Davis & Elkins Marissa Cuevas earned top honors from the Mountain East Conference, highlighting the All-MEC Women's Lacrosse Team and award winners for the 2020-21 season, as released on Tuesday by the league office.

Davis was tabbed as the Offensive Player of the Year, while Cuevas was named both the Defensive Player of the Year and the Freshman of the Year. Additionally, Notre Dame's Ben Morhac was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Davis, a senior from Charleston, W.Va., scored 47 goals and had 14 assists this season -- both best in the MEC -- and her 47 goals rank 10th in the country. She contributed a league-best 4.69 points per game, and also had four game-winning goals on the year. She scored three or more goals in nine of 13 game this year and had a season-high eight goals against Alderson Broaddus back on March 27. Davis also ranked among the league leaders in ground balls per game (second, 3.62), draw controls (third, 3.46) and caused turnovers (fourth, 1.59).

Cuevas, a native of Farmingville, N.Y., doubled up on Defensive and Freshman of the Year honors after a stellar season for the Senators. Her .565 save percentage not only led the Mountain East Conference this past season, but also ranked sixth in the country and best among any freshman in NCAA Division II. The first team All-MEC selection allowed just 9.00 goals per game and contributed a league-high 11.70 saves per contest. Her 3.70 ground balls per game lead the MEC and also rank 11th in the nation.

Morhac is the MEC Coach of the Year after guiding Notre Dame to a 10-3 overall record, including a 9-1 mark in conference play. He helped the Falcons, who had not previously qualified for the MEC Tournament, to its first-ever Mountain East Conference regular season title in the sport and the No. 1 seed for this week's tournament.

In addition to the individual award winners, the MEC also announced its all-conference teams. League champion Notre Dame had five first-team honorees, while runner-up Frostburg State had four. UC, Alderson Broaddus and Davis & Elkins each had one representative on the first team.

The All-MEC teams and awards are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

All-MEC First Team

Pos. Name School Cl. Hometown

A Elisha Davis Charleston Sr. Charleston, W.Va.

A Anna Kearney Frostburg State Fr. Catonsville, Md.

A Stephanie King Frostburg State Sr. Edgewater, Md.

A Ebony Reddick Notre Dame Jr. Pottstown, Pa.

M Summer Cavey Frostburg State Sr. Pasadena, Md.

M Leslie Diaz Alderson Broaddus Jr. Orlando, Fla.

M Kendal Johnson Notre Dame So. Atlanta, Ga.

M Amanda Paino Notre Dame Sr. Minisink Valley, N.Y.

D Mackenzie Cramer Frostburg State Jr. Edgewater, Md.

D Nia Griffith Notre Dame So. West Babylon, N.Y.

D Katie Wendell Notre Dame Jr. Chesterfield, Mo.

G Marissa Cuevas Davis & Elkins Fr. Farmingville, N.Y.

All-MEC Second Team

Pos Name School Cl. Hometown

A Paige Graff Davis & Elkins Jr. Edgewood, Md.

A Cammie Schniedwind Frostburg State So. Annapolis, Md.

A Lilly Stephens Frostburg State So. Urbana, Md.

A Charlotte Vari Notre Dame Fr. Spring Hill, Fla.

M Bailey Fedun Alderson Broaddus So. Milford, Pa.

M Angelina Horan Davis & Elkins Sr. Lothian, Md.

M Emily Smith Davis & Elkins Jr. Waterloo, N.Y.

M Tess Yuhas Charleston Fr. Ann Arbor, Mich.

D Emma Neff Frostburg State Jr. Nottingham, Md.

D Destiny Jackson Charleston So. Charleston, W.Va.

D Sarah Zapata Davis & Elkins Jr. Naples, Fla.

G Mackenzie Levine Notre Dame Jr. Mentor, Ohio

All-MEC Honorable Mention

A: Megan Dano (NDC), Victoria Sisson (WVWC)

M: Lindsay Kohlmann (FROST), Alicyn Loberg (NDC)

D: Sydney DeCamp (NDC), Kaiya Roberson (UC), Morgan Winterbottom (AB)

G: Whitney Crosby (FROST)

MEC All-Freshman Team

Pos. Name School Cl. Hometown

G Whitney Crosby Frostburg State Fr. Stevensville, Md.

G Marissa Cuevas Davis & Elkins Fr. Farmingville, N.Y.

A Anna Kearney Frostburg State Fr. Catonsville, Md.

A Charlotte Vari Notre Dame Fr. Spring Hill, Fla.

G Taylor Young Alderson Broaddus Fr. Darlington, Pa.

M Tess Yuhas Charleston Fr. Ann Arbor, Mich.

Top Honors

Offensive Player of the Year: Elisha Davis (Charleston)

Defensive Player of the Year: Marissa Cuevas (Davis & Elkins)

Freshman of the Year: Marissa Cuevas (Davis & Elkins)

Coach of the Year: Ben Morhac (Notre Dame)



Video News
More In Sports