Lions Club welcomes new members

BUCKHANNON — The Tennerton Lions Club conducted their June meeting and dinner at the North End Park to install their new officers, induct new members and give out two scholarships.

The six new members inducted to the Tennerton Lions Club are Deborah Hinkle, Danny Hinkle, Peggy Landis, Carolyn Morrison, Joseph Morrison and Paul Norko.

Installed into office for the term July 1 to June 30, 2021 are as follows: Nicholas Cutright as President, Robert Garrison as First Vice President, Johnnaston Kimble as Second Vice President, Vickie Walton as Third Vice President, Frank Becker as Secretary and Treasurer, Harry Craig II and John Simons as Board of Director for two-year terms, Bob Anderson as Membership Chair, John Haymond, Jr. as Sight Chair, Ann Slaughter as Lions Club International Foundation Chair and Nancy Ward as Tail Twister.

Past Council Chairs Alan Cox, of Clarksburg Lions Club, and Ken Shahan, of Nutter Fort Lions Club, came to install new officers and induct the club’s new members.

Recent Buckhannon-Upshur High School graduates Isaac Stankus and Jessica Lane received the “Tennerton Lions Club” $600 scholarships at the meeting. Each recipient received the first half in the amount of $300 for the first semester and will receive the second after successfully completing their first semester. The recipients have to maintain a 3.0 GPA their first semester and must submit their second semester average upon completion.

“I want to say thank you to the Lions Club for choosing me as one of the scholarship winners because that’s definitely going to be really beneficial for paying for my education,” Lane said.

Stankus expressed, “I’d like to thank the Lions Club. What you guys do for the community is absolutely awesome. You guys help out a lot and are always thinking of others.”


Video News
More In Homepage