Lady ‘Cats shutout of MEC post-season basketball honors

BRIDGEPORT — Urbana's Tyra James has been selected as the Mountain East Conference Player of the Year, while Charleston's Dakota Reeves was tabbed as the Freshman of the Year and Notre Dame's Lauren Macer was tabbed as the Coach of the Year, as the league announced its top honors and all-conference teams today.

James, a graduate student from Cincinnati, Ohio, led the league in scoring in addition to ranking among the conference leaders in multiple other catgories. James' 24.6 points per game led the MEC and is in the top five in the country in NCAA Division II this season, and her 530 points in conference play is third-best in league history. The four-time MEC Player of the Week was also fourth in the league in rebounds (10.9) and second in the conference in assists (4.63). She shot .500 from the field (eight-best in the MEC) and averaged 1.19 blocked shots per game.

She set the Urbana single-season scoring record and also became the first MEC player to record two triple-doubles in the same season.

Reeves, a native of Cincinnati, Ohio, was one of just two freshmen to average double figure scoring this season at 10.8 points per game. The sharpshooter led the MEC in three-point field goal percentage at .466, which also ranks in the top 10 in the country. Her 89 made three-pointers is the most by a freshman in conference history. She had three games where she made eight or more threes.

Macer is the league's Coach of the Year for the first time in her career after guiding Notre Dame to a runner-up finish in the Mountain East. Macer, in her third season at the helm, led the Falcons to a 24-4 overall record and an 18-4 mark in conference play. The 24 wins are the most in program history (Division II-era), and the 18 MEC wins are the most in school history. Notre Dame cracked the WBCA Top 25 earlier this year, and are in position to make its first NCAA Tournament appearance holding down the No. 4 spot in the most recent Atlantic Region rankings.

The league also announced the 2019-20 all-conference teams. In addition to James on the first team, Notre Dame's Seina Adachi was a first-team selection for a third-straight year,  while three others were repeat honorees from a year ago in Anna Hayton (UC), Sierra Kotchman (FAIR) and Madison May (CU). Davis & Elkins' Jamiyah Johnson, who set the MEC record four double-doubles in a season with 25, along with the league's top rebounder in Wheeling's Lilly Ritz and Glenville State scoring ace Re'Shawna Stone rounded out the first team.

West Liberty teammates Morgan Brunner and Taylor Johnson were second-team selections, along with Concord's Riley Fitzwater, Urbana's Sylvia Hudson, Notre Dame's Jada Marone, Charleston's Brooklyn Pannell, Glenville State's Zakiyah Winfield and Fairmont State's Rachel Laskody.

Ty Armstrong (Glenville State), Charity Shears (W.Va. State), Emily Stoller (Glenville State) and Jessica Stout (Notre Dame) earned honorable mention recognition.

The All-MEC teams are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

2020 All-MEC First Team

Name School Cl. Pos. Ht.

Seina Adachi** Notre Dame Sr. G 5-7

Anna Hayton*    Charleston Sr. F/C 6-2

Tyra James Urbana Gr. G/F 6-0

Jamiyah Johnson Davis & Elkins Jr. F/C 5-11

Sierra Kotchman* Fairmont State Jr. G 5-6

Madison May* Concord Sr. F 6-0

Lilly Ritz Wheeling So. F 6-1

Re'Shawna Stone Glenville State So. G 5-6

* First team in 2019 • ** First team in 2018 and 2019

2020 All-MEC Second Team

Name School Cl. Pos. Ht.

Morgan Brunner West Liberty Sr. G 5-9

Riley Fitzwater Concord Jr. F 6-4

Sylvia Hudson Urbana Sr. F 5-10

Taylor Johnson West Liberty Sr. G 5-9

Jada Marone Notre Dame So. G 5-6

Brooklyn Pannell Charleston Jr. G 5-9

Zakiyah Winfield Glenville State So. G 5-7

Rachel Laskody Fairmont State Sr. F 6-0

2020 All-MEC Honorable Mention

Name School Cl. Pos. Ht.

Ty Armstrong Glenville State Sr. G 5-4

Charity Shears W.Va. State So. G 5-9

Emily Stoller Glenville State Sr. G/F 6-1.

Jessica Stout Notre Dame Sr. F 5-11

Player of the Year: Tyra James (Urbana)

Freshman of the Year: Dakota Reeves (Charleston)

Coach of the Year: Lauren Macer (Notre Dame)


Video News
More In Sports