Lady Bucs land five players on Region I Soccer Team

TENNERTON – Five Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Bucs were selected to the WVHSSAC Class AAA All-Region I Soccer Team.

Juniors Maggie Nolte and Kennedy Samargo were named the All-Region I First Team while juniors Catherine Oliveto, Maggie Queen and Gracie Boyles were named to the Second Team.

Nolte, a midfielder for the Lady Bucs, had one goal and two assists during the 2019 season.

Samargo earned her spot on the First Team as a defender,.She started the season there but moved up to attack later in the season.

She compiled 11 goals and had two assists.

Oliveto led the team in goals with 16 and was tied on the team in assists with Cameron Zuliani with 10 from her forward position.

Queen, a midfielder, tallied three goals and seven assists for the Lady Bucs.

Boyles, one of the top defenders in the region, also scored one goal and had five assists on the season.

The Lady Bucs ended the season with a 12-5-4 record.

Morgantown swept the individual awards as Samantha Brown was. Named Player of the Year while Stirlin Rivers was named Coach of the Year.

Region I is comprised of seven high schools – Buckhannon-Upshur, Brooke, John Marshall, Morgantown, Preston, University and Wheeling Park.


All-Region I Team



Abbey Anderson (Sr.) – Wheeling Park

Anna Inquinto (Sr.) – Morgantown

Emily Lattea (Fr.) – University

Faith Mealy (Sr.)  – Wheeling Park

Megan Noss (Sr.) – Preston

Zara Zervos (Jr.) – John Marshall


Samantha Brown (Sr.) – Morgantown

Emma Delk (Sr.) – Wheeling Park

Graceylyn Hanna (Jr.) – Wheeling Park

Maggie Nolte (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Alyssa Weaver (Jr.) – Morgantown

Kassidy Wolfe (Sr.) – University


Annalese Aderholt (Sr.) – Wheeling Park

Erin McClelland (Jr.) – Preston

Brooke Ohler (Soph.) – Brooke

Kennedy Samargo (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Amanda Weaver (Fr.) – Morgantown


Jessica Jones (Sr.) – Morgantown



Tristen Bright (Jr.) – University

Catherine Oliveto (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Izabela Stahl (Soph.) – Preston

Madison Wesolowsky (Sr.) – University


Lydia Buchmelter (Jr.) – Brooke

Samantha Davis (Sr.) – Preston

Maggie Queen (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur


Gracie Boyles (Jr.) – Buckhannon-Upshur

Briana Ferguson (Soph.) – Brooke

Tali Sizemore (Soph.) – University

Laurel Williams (Sr.) – Preston



Player of the Year: Samantha Brown – Morgantown

Coach of the Year: Stirlin Rivers – Morgantown


More In Obituaries