Lady Bobcats’ Stewart chosen for MEC second team

BRIDGEPORT — West Virginia Wesleyan’s Mari Stewart was chosen to the All-Mountain East Conference second team last week.

Stewart, a senior forward from Templeton, Calif., averaged 14.1 points and 9.2 rebounds and connected on a sizzling 90.1 percent of her free throws.

Meanwhile, Glenville State took two of the top league honors with Paris McLeod being selected as the MEC Player of the Year for the second straight year and her coach Kim Stephens earning Coach of the Year honors. Fairmont State’s Sierra Kotchman was tabbed as the league’s Freshman of the Year.

McLeod, a senior from Belleville, Mich., repeats as the league’s Player of the Year after winning the award last year. McLeod ranks among the league leaders in eight different categories, including third in scoring at 20.0 points per game. Additionally, she leads the league in steals (3.54) and is fourth in assists (4.50) and assist/turnover ratio (1.68). She earned MEC Player of the Week honors four times during the 2017-18 season. McLeod had 17 games of 20 points or more and had three double-doubles (including one triple-double). She is the first player to repeat as MEC Player of the Year.

Kotchman, a Washington, Pa., native, established a new Fairmont State record for scoring as a freshman with 515 points for an average of 18.4 per game. That total also established a new MEC mark for points as a freshman. Kotchman ranks third in NCAA Division II in scoring among freshmen. She had 14 games of 20 points or more including a season-high 32 against West Liberty on Dec. 9.

Stephens is the league’s Coach of the Year after guiding the Pioneers to the first undefeated regular season in MEC women’s basketball history (22-0). In addition to guiding GSC to back-to-back regular season MEC titles, Stephens has also led the Pioneers to the nation’s second-longest winning streak at 26 games. Glenville State is ranked in both national polls, and is currently seventh in the country in the WBCA poll.

The league also announced the 2017-18 all-conference teams. The first team had eight players from seven different schools highlighted by McLeod, who repeats as a first team honoree. Aurreeshae Hines from West Virginia State was also a repeat selection to the first team. Notre Dame’s Seina Adachi and Kim Cook, Shepherd’s Morgan Arden, West Liberty’s Marissa Brown, Urbana’s Stefanie Davis and Wheeling Jesuit’s Chenelle Moore round out the first team.

FSU’s Kotchman was named to the second team, along with teammate Kelli Jo Harrison. Concord’s duo of Riley Fitzwater and Madison May were also on the second team, along with Wheeling Jesuit’s Monica Burns and Mariah Callen. Glenville State’s Courtney Davis, Stewart and Notre Dame’s Marisa Finazzo complete the second team.

Jasmine Davis (West Virginia State), Sylvia Hudson (Urbana) and Octavia Loll (Charleston) earned honorable-mention recognition.

The All-MEC teams are selected by a vote of the league’s coaches.

2018 All-MEC Teams:

First Team

Seina Adachi, Notre Dame

Morgan Arden, Shepherd

Marissa Brown, West Liberty

Kim Cook, Notre Dame

Stefanie Davis, Urbana

Aurreeshae Hines, W.Va. State

Paris McLeod, Glenville State

Chenelle Moore, Wheeling Jesuit

Second Team

Monica Burns, Wheeling Jesuit

Mariah Callen, Wheeling Jesuit

Courtney Davis, Glenville State

Marisa Finazzo, Notre Dame

Riley Fitzwater, Concord

Kelli Jo Harrison, Fairmont State

Sierra Kotchman, Fairmont State

Madison May, Concord

Mari Stewart, W.Va. Wesleyan

Honorable Mention

Jasmine Davis, W.Va. State

Sylvia Hudson, Urbana

Octavia Loll, Charleston

Individual honors

Player of the Year: Paris McLeod (Glenville State)

Freshman of the Year: Sierra Kotchman (Fairmont State)

Coach of the Year: Kim Stephens (Glenville State)

Video News
More In Sports