Hurst and Tenney named to WVHSSCA All-Region Soccer First Team

TENNERTON – The post-season honors keep rolling in for the Buckhannon-Upshur boys’ soccer team as the 2018 WVHSSCA AAA Boys All-Region I teams were announced this week.

The Bucs landed two players on the First Team as sophomores Ryan Hurst and Lane Tenney both made it as midfielders.

They are joined by teammates sophomore Sam Squires and senior Logan Kelley.

Squires was a Second Team defender while Kelley was named a Second Team keeper.

Hurst played in 21 games for the Buccaneers and led them in scoring with 27 goals. He also added four assists on the year.

Tenney played in 22 games and had five goals and six assists.

Squires, a stand-out on the defensive side of the ball,  didn’t register any offensive stats this season.

Kelley recorded 113 saves on 153 shots and posted two shutouts.

Region I is made up of seven teams – Buckhannon-Upshur, Brooke, John Marshall, Morgantown, Preston, University and Wheeling Park.

Wheeling Park had five players earn First Team honors while University had three.

University swept the individual honors as Joseph Biafora was named the Region I Player of the Year while his coach Dustin Talton was named the Coach of the Year.

Earlier this week, Hurst and Tenney were named to the All-Big 10 Conference Second Team.



Max Kilwein – Morgantown

Aaron Zerkel – Morgantown

Montgomery Rebelo – Preston

Louise Aulick – Wheeling Park

Joseph Biafora – University


Josh Ferguson – Brooke

Nick Cruny – Brooke

Ryan Hurst – Buckhannon-Upshur

Lane Tenney – Buckhannon-Upshur

Chris Romanek – Wheeling Park

Coleman Meredith – Wheeling Park

Mason Shockley – University

Brock Pickett – University


Clayton Meredith – Wheeling Park


Zach Calvert – Wheeling Park





Daniel Polinski – Morgantown

Caden Carpenter – Morgantown

Josh Land – Preston

Justin Parsons – University


Garrett Bernardini – Brooke

Liam Cronin – Brooke

Sam Squires – Buckhannon-Upshur

Aiden Pfeiffer – Morgantown

Eric Mace – Preston

Pierce Spain – University


Matthew Reed – Brooke

Logan Kelley – Buckhannon-Upshur

Player of the Year – Joseph Biafora (University)

Coach of the Year – Dustin Talton (University)

Video News
More In Sports