Hurst and Tenney earn All-Big 10 Soccer Conference honors

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneer soccer team landed two players on the 2018 Boys Big 10 All-Conference Soccer Team that was announced on Sunday.

Sophomore forward Ryan Hurst and sophomore forward/midfielder Lane Tenney were both named to the All Big 10 Second Team.

Hurst played in 21 games for the Buccaneers and led them in scoring with 27 goals. He also added four assists on the year.

Tenney played in 22 games and had five goals and six assists.

“I am very proud of them for earning this accomplishment,” remarked Buckhannon-Upshur head coach Mike Donato. “Getting any recognition in our conference is not easy considering the amount of quality teams and players that we have in the Big 10. The fact that they also accomplished this feat as sophomores really speaks to the quality of players they truly are.”

Donato’s Bucs ended the year with a 9-10-3 record.

The Bucs beat Morgantown in the sectional opener before seeing their season come to an end in the sectional championship game at the hands of University.

East Fairmont, the state runners-up in Class AA, swept the Player of the Year and Coach of the Year honors as Corey Fluharty was Player of the Year and Tristan Wierbonski was Coach of the Year.

East Fairmont lost a 3-1 contest to Winfield in the Class AA title game.

Bridgeport, East Fairmont and Robert C. Byrd all landed three players on the Big 10 First Team while Fairmont Senior had two and Liberty, Philip Barbour and Preston each had one selection.


Tristan Notle – Bridgeport

Broc Oliverio – Bridgeport

Sam Stauffer – Bridgeport

Corey Fluharty – East Fairmont

Aiden Slusser – East Fairmont

Lance Cerullo – East Fairmont

Khori Miles – Robert C. Byrd

Ryan Collett – Robert C. Byrd

Tanner Dodd – Robert C. Byrd

Michael Floyd – Fairmont Senior

Nathan Maxwell – Fairmont Senior

Chance Howell – Liberty

Caleb Shipley – Philip Barbour

Montomery Rebelo – Preston


Seth Stilenbauer – Fairmont Senior

Isaac Branch – Fairmont Senior

Jonas Branch – Fairmont Senior

Ryan Hurst – Buckhannon-Upshur

Lane Tenney – Buckhannon-Upshur

Greyson Howell – Elkins

Liam Gongola – Elkins

Gabe Wolverton – Grafton

Alec Correia – Grafton

Collin Dodson – Lewis County

Jeremiah Cruz – Lewis County

Joel Morris – East Fairmont

Ryan Leep – Lincoln

Elijah Williams – Robert C. Byrd

Player of the Year – Corey Fluharty (East Fairmont)

Coach of the Year – Tristan Wierbonski (East Fairmont)


Video News
More In Sports