Gaudet and Ware earn All-Big 10 First Team soccer honors; Bennett named to All-Big 10 Second Team

TENNERTON – Buckhannon-Upshur’s Audrey Gaudet and Madison Ware earned 2018 Big 10 All-Conference Soccer First Team honors as the team was released Sunday afternoon.

Leigh Ann Bennett joined her teammates as a member of the Second Team.

Ware, a senior forward/midfielder, played in 17 games and scored 12 goals and had eight assists despite missing three games with a concussion.

She was a four-year starter for the Lady Bucs.

“Madi had a great senior season and really worked hard,” remarked Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Buc coach Jackie Zuliani. “She really matured as a young woman and a player. Her movement greatly improved and she was a total offensive threat. She had a great scoring season, but also had several assists. She has been an offensive leader all of her high school career and we will miss her next year.”

Gaudet, also a four-year senior starter, tallied two goals and one assist and played in all 20 games for the Lady Bucs from her center defender position.

“Audrey had a fantastic four years as our center defender,” Zuliani stated. “She was the heart and soul of our defense. She shut down so many scoring opportunities and frustrated many other teams’ strikers. She was definitely one of the top defenders in the state. She will be very hard to replace.”

Bennett, a senior midfielder and four-year starter, scored three goals and owned three assists in 20 games for the Lady Bucs.

“Leigh Ann had a great season and really stepped up for us in the midfield. We needed someone to fill in at the holding mid position and I called on Leigh Ann to give it a shot. She did very well and really changed the balance of our attack and working the ball up from the defense. She was a natural defender and really helped close down the center of the field. I am very proud of how far she has come as a player. I hope others learn from her and see to always be open to playing anywhere on the field and do whatever it you can to benefit the team.”

Zuliani and her Lady Bucs ended the year with a 13-5-2 record falling to University in the sectional opener.

“I wish nothing but the best to all three of our all-conference players in their future endeavors.”

Bridgeport and Robert C. Byrd put three members on 

the First Team while the Lady Bucs and Elkins each had two.

Robert C. Byrd won the Class AA-A championship with a 3-1 victory over Charleston Catholic.

RCB won both post-season individual awards with Ashton McKane getting Player of the Year honors while Tina Smith was named the Coach of the Year.


Maddie Wilson – Bridgeport

Kristin George – Bridgeport

Rory Marple – Bridgeport

Ashton McKane – Robert C. Byrd

Lura Simons – Robert C. Byrd

Maddie Smith – Robert C. Byrd

Audrey Gaudet – Buckhannon-Upshur

Madison Ware – Buckhannon-Upshur

Kiley Calain – Elkins

Sophia Triplett – Elkins

Trisha Lemasters – Fairmont Senior

Mackenzie Hendricks – Lewis County

Aeriss Efaw – North Marion

Payton Gregory – Philip Barbour


Brittany Lawrence – Philip Barbour

Cloie Mosesso – Philip Barbour

Braylynn Travis – Philip Barbour

Kendra Bolinger – Preston

Sydney Davis – Preston

Megan Noss – Preston

Emma Cayton – Lewis County

Mikayala Lattae – Lewis County

Hannah Floyd – Fairmont Senior

Avery King – Fairmont Senior

Leigh Ann Bennett – Buckhannon-Upshur

Stevee Brock – East Fairmont

Sydney Vilian – Liberty

Tiara Snyder – Robert C. Byrd

Player of the Year – Ashton McKane (Robert C. Byrd)

Coach of the Year – Tina Smith (Robert C. Byrd)

Video News
More In Sports