Football Buccaneers land two players on Class AAA All-State football team

TENNERTON – Two Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneers were named to the 2019 Class AAA All-State Football team as selected on by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association.

Seniors Ryan Strader and Ryan Smith were named to the All-State team.

Strader, a quarterback and defensive back for the Bucs, was named to the Special Honorable Mention team, while Smith a lineman on both sides of the ball, was named to the Honorable Mention Team.

Strader threw for 1208 yards completing 108 passes out of 187 attempts.

He threw for 12 touchdowns and ran for two more.

Smith was a standout for the Bucs on both the offensive and defensive side of the ball.

Martinsburg’s Jarod Bowie was named captain of the First Team offense while Parkersburg South’s Brandon Penn was named captain of the First Team defense.

The 2019 Class AAA all-state football team, as selected by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association:



OL – Wyatt Milum, Spring Valley, Jr.

OL – Ty Lucas, Martinsburg, Sr.

OL – Jackson Oxley, Cabell Midland, Sr.

OL – Terrance Pankey, Huntington, Sr.

OL – Ian Pomeroy, Woodrow Wilson, Sr.

WR – Jarod Bowie, Martinsburg, Sr. (captain)

WR – Dylan Day, Parkersburg South, Sr.

QB – Alex Dunlevy, Wheeling Park, Sr.

RB – Blake Hartman, Musselman, Jr.

RB – Caden Easterling, Riverside, Sr.

RB – Jakob Caudill, Cabell Midland,Jr.

K – Chris Catlett, Martinsburg, Sr.

Utility – Elijiah Banks, Martinsburg, Sr.

Utility – Chance Knox, Capital, Sr.

Utility – J.J. Roberts, Cabell Midland, Sr.


DL – Matt Bednarski, Martinsburg, Sr.

DL – Zeiqui Lawton, South Charleston,Jr.

DL – Braxton Amos, Parkersburg South, Sr.

DL – Zach McCoy, Cabell Midland,Sr.

DL – CJ Wade, Parkersburg, Sr.

LB – Logan Spurlock, Capital, Sr.

LB – Trey Sine, Martinsburg, Sr.

LB – Brocton Blair, Huntington, Sr.

DB – Teddy Marshall, Martinsburg, Sr.

DB – Kerion Martin, Capital, Sr.

DB – David Livingston, Spring Valley, Sr.

P – Michael Hughes, George Washington, Sr.

Utility – Brandon Penn, Parkersburg South, Sr. (captain)

Utility – Preston Fox, Morgantown, Sr.

Utility – Devin Heath, Hedgesville, Sr.



OL – Marcellus Marshall, Morgantown, Sr.

OL – Ethan Northcraft, Musselman, Jr.

OL – Austin Chapman, Riverside, Sr.

OL – Jake Hutchison, Spring Valley, Sr.

OL – Corey Shaffer, Jefferson, Sr.

WR – Alex Mazelon, George Washington, Sr.

WR – Carson Namack, Wheeling Park, Jr.

QB – R.T. Alexander, George Washington, Jr.

RB – Naieem Kerney, Martinsburg, Jr. (captain)

RB – Kevon Warren, Martinsburg, Jr.

RB – Marion Lawson, Greenbrier East, Sr.

RB – Christian Hill, Hurricane, Sr.

K – Andrew Glass, Wheeling Park, Jr.

Utility – Kyle King, Greenbrier East, Sr.

Utility – Stevie Mitchell, Wheeling Park, Jr.


DL – Terrel Goode, Martinsburg, Sr.

DL – Jeff Tucker, Parkersburg South, Sr.

DL – Bomani Brooks, Hurricane, Sr.

LB – Parker Hardman, Cabell Midland, Sr.

LB – Logan Raber, University, Sr.

LB – Malakai Brown, Martinsburg, Sr.

LB – Justin Rinehart, Musselman, Jr.

LB – Tierdin Berry, Cabell Midland, Sr.

DB – Anthony Smith, Martinsburg, Sr.

DB – Devin Jackson, Huntington, Jr.

DB – Romeo Dunham, South Charleston, Sr. (captain)

P – Matt Curry, Parkersburg, Sr.

Utility – Chase Henson, Spring Mills, Jr.

Utility – Luke Christopher, Spring Valley, Sr.

Utility – Devin Gaines, Parkersburg South, Jr.



Eli Archer, Huntington; Jace Boggs, John Marshall; Jace Bradbury, Washington; Brody Brumfield, Spring Valley; Grant Cochran, Princeton; Jackson Fetty, Cabell Midland; Gage Fiore, Parkersburg; Dalton Flowers, John Marshall; Chris Hudson, Capital; Shaheed Jackson, Wheeling Park; Braeden Mason, Parkersburg; John McConnell, Morgantown; Matt Moore, Ripley; Ryan Moses, Hurricane; Ethan Parsons, Princeton; Charlie Pierson, Riverside; Zane Porter, Spring Valley; Andrew Preast, George Washington; Colten Rosenburger, Preston; Andrew Shelek, Wheeling Park; Joshua Shorts, Brooke; Jacob Spearen, University; Ryan Strader, Buckhannon-Upshur; Sawyer Twigg, Hedgesville; Ethan Von Glahn, Hedgesville; Tyrone Washington, Hurricane; Joseph Wells, Woodrow Wilson; Max Wentz, Huntington


Frank Amore, Washington; Camden Bates, Brooke; JB Barrick, Spring Mills; Ayden Bishoff, Preston; Ta’ Blackwell, Huntington; Caleb Bryan, Wheeling Park; Tay Calloway, Capital; Mondrell Dean, South Charleston; Deondre Crudup, Morgnatown; Zach Dillon, Cabell Midland; Justin Frohnapfel, John Marshall; Christian Gist, Capital; Cooper Hardman, Cabell Midland; Karrington Hill, Capital; Jaxon Holbert, St. Albans; Chris Hulmes, Greenbrier East; Isaac Isabell, George Washington; Chase Keener, Spring Mills; Shyliek Kinney, South Charleston; Bryce Morris, Martinsburg; Ripley; Michael Ray, George Washington; Nemo Romberts, Cabell Midland; Trevor Sardo, Hampshire; Josh Sanders, University; Clayton Sharp, Spring Valley; Samahji Simon, South Charleston; Ryan Smith, Buckhannon-Upshur; Noah Waynick, Huntington; Kam Wells, St. Albans; Noah Westfall, Ripley; Jace Whetsell, Morgantown; Elijah Williams, George Washington


Video News
More In Sports