Falconieri named to MEC All-Conference First Team; three other Bobcats earn post-season honors

BRIDGEPORT — Urbana's Jasminko Dizdarevic, along with the University of Charleston's Ploutarchos Alonefti, Jordi Ramon and Dan Stratford have earned top honors from the Mountain East Conference as the league announced its annual awards and all-conference teams.

Dizdarevic, a senior forward from St. Charles, Ill., notched 13 goals and had five assists on his way to Offensive Player of the Year honors in the MEC. He led the league in goals, goals per game, points, points per game and shots. He recorded four multi-goal games this season and registered a point in 10 of 18 games for the Blue Knights. He is the first UU player to earn MEC Offensive Player of the Year honors. He has a 3.78 GPA majoring in business and was recently named to the 2019 CoSIDA Academic All-District first team.

Ramon, a junior from Valencia, Spain, is the third different player from Charleston in as many years to earn MEC Defensive Player of the Year honors. Ramon helped lead a defensive unit that has posted 10 shutouts on the year and a goals-against average of 0.38 that ranks best in the league and third in the country. He also added four goals for the Golden Eagles.

Alonefti, a native of Nicosia, Cyprus, is the conference's Freshman of the Year for his work in the midfield for UC. He found the back of the net five times this year and also dished out five assists for 15 points. Two of his scores were game-winners for the Golden Eagles.

Stratford was named MEC Coach of the Year for a second-straight season after leading Charleston to a 15-2-1 record, including a 15-0-1 mark in league play -- marking a third-straight unbeaten record in the MEC.

He helped guide UC to a sixth-straight regular season conference title. The Golden Eagles rank second nationally in scoring offense at 3.61 per game, and also are third in the nation in goals-against average at 0.38. Charleston has spent a majority of the season in the national rankings and have been in the top three in each of the first two NCAA Super Region 1 rankings.

In addition to the individual honors, the league also announced the All-MEC teams. Regular season champion Charleston had six first team selections, while runner-up Notre Dame had three. Urbana had two first team selections, while Davis & Elkins, West Virginia Wesleyan and West Liberty each had one honoree.

The All-MEC teams are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.


Pos.  Name Cl. School

G — Daniele De Angelis Sr. Notre Dame

D — Williams N'Dah Sr. Charleston

D — Lewis Norvock Sr. Notre Dame

D — Jordi Ramon Jr. Charleston

D — Paolo Termine Sr. Notre Dame

M — Christopher Allan So. Charleston

M — Christos Charalambous So. Charleston

M — Jasminko Dizdarevic Sr. Urbana

M — Markus Just So. Davis & Elkins

M — Bernardo Vilchis Jr. West Liberty

F — Jesus Cabanas Jr. Charleston

F — Luca Falconieri Sr. W.Va. Wesleyan

F — Hass Gorji Sr. Urbana

F — Freddy Tracey Sr. Charleston


Pos.  Name Cl. School

G — Alvaro Dean Sr. Charleston

D — Giulio Bellei Sr. Notre Dame

D — Luis Diaz So. W.Va. Wesleyan

D — Blake Geatz Sr. Frostburg State

D — Marvin Zott Sr. Urbana

M — Ploutarchos Alonefti Fr. Charleston

M — Niklas Bohlin Jr. Notre Dame

M — Lucas Fievet Sr. Wheeling

M — Varis Singh Khera Jr. Notre Dame

F — Ettore Ballestracci Sr. Charleston

F — Youness Benmouna Jr. Frostburg State

F — Luke Nicholls Fr. Urbana

F — Maxime Ramioulle Sr. Concord


Video News
More In Sports