Elkins Raceway wraps up 2022 season with Fall Festival 50 finale

KERANS — Fireworks illuminated the sky as preparations for the final 2022 dirt-track races of the year at Elkins Raceway got underway this past Saturday, August 27 during the Fall Festival 50 finale. Drivers battled it out for points championships and increased payouts in every class, including: $3000 to the Super Lates winner, $1200 to the Fastrak Crates winner, $1100 to the modifieds winner, $500 to the street stock winner and $800 to the hot mod winner.  

The Super Lates division got the Fall 50 Festival festivities underway, as Shane Hitt was the fastest lap time in qualifying at 14.980 before taking the win in the first of two ten lap heats. Jacob Hawkins took the win in the second heat before Hitt resumed his dominance in the fifty lap featured race, holding off both Logan Hitt and Hawkins in the final Super Lates race of the season. Despite the second place finish in the featured race, Logan Hitt’s body of work throughout the course of the season was enough to deliver him the Super Lates division points championship, finishing with 3472 points. 

In the Crates division, Brent Trimble was the dominate car early setting the fastest lap time in qualifying at 15.631 before leveraging his strong qualifying run into a win in the first of two eight lap heats. Garret Pugh picked up the win in the second heat before Patrick Solari emerged from the field to win the thirty lap featured race. Despite a fourth place finish in the final featured race of the year, Trimble’s 3223 points were more than enough to take home the Fastrak Crates division points championship.  

Mitch Thomas got his night off to a stellar start in Modifieds division action as he set the fastest lap time in qualifying at 16.020 before collecting the win in the first of three six lap heats. Phil Jefferies took heat two before Dave Defibaugh claimed the top spot in heat three, setting up an epic twenty-five lap featured race with major potential points implications. Jesse Rupe, a strong competitor all night long, fought his way to the front during the course of the featured race, managing to hold off Rob Smith and Steven Dotson for the win. Mitch Thomas, who could have picked up the points championship with a featured race win, finished fourth, allowing Phil Jefferies to hang on for the Modifieds division points championship. Jefferies ends the season with 2784 points, just edging out Thomas who wraps the season up with 2739 points.  

In the Street Stocks division, Michael Ayerson couldn’t have asked for a much better start, setting the fastest lap time in qualifying at 17.251 before taking a win in the first of two six lap heats. Randy Bohan took the second heat before points leader Kevin Keene capped off his season with a win in the twenty lap featured race. The win capped off an outstanding season for Keene, who takes home the Street Stock division points championship after accumulating 3222 points this season.  

In the Hot Mods division races, Rodger Hull, who entered this week second in the division’s tight points race, did his best to claw his way to the top on Saturday. Hull was on a tear, setting the fastest lap time in qualifying at 17.728 before winning the first of two six lap heats. Trent Speicher claimed the win in the second heat, before Hull resumed his dominance in the twenty lap featured race, cruising to the win. Despite the win, Hull couldn’t manage enough points to pass points leader Joshua Simpson. With a third place finish in Saturday’s final featured race, Simpson survived a scare from Hull to take home the championship hardware. 

Edge Hot Mods Points Standings 

1.) Joshua Simpson - 3149 total points 

2.) Rodger Hull - 2901 total points 

3.) Michael Simpson - 2725 total points 

4.) Joshua Hymes - 2263 total points 

5.) Jason Phillips - 2209 total points 

Street Stock Points Standings 

1.) Kevin Keene - 3222 total points

2.) Todd Simmons - 2914 total points 

3.) Kevin Cooper - 2289 total points 

4.) Dustin Atkinson - 2203 total points 

5.) Randy Bohan - 2003 total points 

UMP Modifieds Points Standings 

1.) Phil Jefferies - 2784 total points 

2.) Mitch Thomas - 2739 total points 

3.) Kenny Rowback - 2450 total points 

4.) Gary Dalton - 2306 total points 

5.) Dave Defibaugh - 1741 total points

Fastrak Crate Late Models Points Standings

1.) Brent Trimble - 3223 total points 

2.) Luke Hyre - 2713 total points 

3.) Chandi Currence - 2360 total points 

4.) Lucas McDonald - 2331 total points 

5.) Sparky Davisson - 2115 total points Super Late Models Points Standings 

1.) Shane Hitt - 3472 total points 

2.) Logan Hitt - 2991 total points 

3.) Billy Holbert - 2500 total points 

4.) Bob Gordan - 2207 total points 

5.) Kenney Hamrick - 2026 total points


More In Sports