Donato, four Buccaneers land on Big-10 All-Conference Soccer team

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur soccer Buccaneers landed four players and a coach on the Big 10 All-Conference Soccer Team that was announced on Monday.

A trio of juniors were named to the First Team – forward Ryan Hurst, midfielder Lane Tenney and defender Sam Squires.

Senior midfielder Dawson Carpenter was named the Second Team.

Buckhannon-Upshur head coach Mike Donato was named the 2019 Big 10 Conference “Coach of the Year.”

Hurst finished the year leading the Bucs in scoring with 44 goals and 12 assists.

“Ryan's season really stood out, not just because of his high volume of scoring, but the overall growth in his game,” remarked Donato. “For a striker to not only score 40 plus goals but double-digit assists shows how much he's grown this season.”

Tenney compiled seven goals and six assists on the season while Squires was a shutdown defender who tallied one goal.

“Lane really has turned into a very quality player and leader for our team,” noted Donato. “He really has become more vocal this season and his hard work and energy is contagious. The same could be said for Sam, who really stepped up the challenge of taking control in our defense and being a true vocal leader.”

Carpenter scored 13 goals and 11 assists during the season.

“Dawson really stepped up big for us this season,” stated Donato. “He admittedly didn't have his best year this past season, but he really came through for us big in the midfield his senior season.” 

The Bucs won the Big 10 Conference title with a perfect 11-0-1 record and they ended the year with a 16-4-2- record as Donato garnered “Coach of the Year” honors.

Robert C. Byrd’s Khori Miles was named the Big 10 “Player of the Year.”

“I am really proud of all our guys that got nominated and all that finished on either on the First or Second Team,” concluded Donato.

Big 10 All-Conference First Team


Anthony Atchison – Lewis County

Lance Cerullo – East Fairmont

Ryan Hurst – Buckhannon-Upshur

Khori Miles – Robert C. Byrd


Jonas Branch –  Fairmont Senior

Jeremiah Cruz – Lewis County

Ethan Gregory – Philip Barbour

Mac Madden – Bridgeport

Caleb Shipley – Philip Barbour

Aiden Slusser – East Fairmont

Lane Tenney – Buckhannon-Upshur


Sam Squires – Buckhannon-Upshur


Alec Correia -- Grafton

Big 10 All-Conference Second Team


Stetson Sanders – Grafton

Noah Ward – Philip Barbour


Dawson Carpenter – Buckhannon-Upshur

Hayden Dodd – Liberty

David Gongola – Elkins

Kaiden Maxey – East Fairmont

Logan Parson – Robert C. Byrd


Isaac Branch – Fairmont Senior

Jake Comer – Robert C. Byrd

Devan Fletcher – Elkins

Ryan Leep – Lincoln

Seth Stilgenbauer –Fairmont Senior

Isaiah Williams – Bridgeport

Player of the Year: Khori Miles – Robert C. Byrd

Coach of the Year: Mike Donato - Buckhannon-Upshur


Video News
More In Sports