Commission certifies 2022 Primary Election Results

Commissioners Kristie Tenney and Terry Cutright mid-discussion

BUCKHANNON — The Upshur County Commission held their meeting at the Upshur County Courthouse Annex on Thursday, May 26 at 9 a.m. Among the items on the agenda was to provide certification of the 2022 Primary Election Results for all State and Federal contests.

At approximately 9:15 a.m., it was time to review the certification. Upshur County Clerk Carol Smith noted, “Nothing had changed and everything was good.” At that time Commissioner Samuel Nolte made a motion to approve, which was seconded by Commissioner Terry Cutright. With the motion and the second, Commission President Kristie Tenney confirmed all in favor and the motion passed.

Other items on the agenda that were approved included: approval and signature of letter of support for the City of Buckhannon’s Transportation Alternatives Grant application for the Morton Avenue and North Locust Street Sidewalk and Lighting Project, review and signature of correspondence from Jonathan Vickers, Assistant Director, Chief Inspector’s Division of the W. Va. State Auditor’s Office confirming services to be provided to the Upshur County Commission for the fiscal year ended Wednesday, June 30, 2021. The fee for the audit services will be $37,860.

Commission approved adopting the Fiscal Management of Grants Policy and it was noted that the policy has been reviewed and approved by the Policy Board during their meeting on Wednesday, May 19 and is needed in order to be compliant with grant requirements. Commission also approved the review and signature of W. Va. Communities Risk Pool Coversheet to Member Agreement. The total annual contribution including workers’ compensation is $192,621.

The commission approved correspondence from Brian Elmore, notifying of his resignation from the Upshur County Fire Board effective Wednesday, May 19. Additionally, commission approved the Upshur County Development Authority Resolution adopted on Thursday, May 13 requesting the appointment of: Bobby Gompers, Bob Skinner, Aaron Harris, Greg Hadjis, and Arria Hines to the UCDA Board and upon approval the terms will begin on Thursday, July 1 and expire on Monday, June 30, 2025, and Dr. James Moore to the unexpired position of Joel Thierstein of West Virginia Wesleyan College with the term expiring on Sunday, June 30, 2024.

Approval was also made on “Request for Bids” and Minimum Vehicle Specifications for one new Half Ton Truck for Lewis-Upshur Community Corrections Program. Sealed Proposals must be received no later than 4 p.m. on Saturday, June 22 at the Administrative Annex located at 91 West Main Street, Suite 101. Proposals received by the deadline will be publicly opened, reviewed, and read aloud by the Commission at 9:15 a.m. on Thursday, June 23. There was also approval of employment for additional Buckhannon-Upshur Recreational Park Staff effective Friday, May 27.

Tabled items included correspondence from the Upshur County Firefighters Association requesting a commission appointment to the newly created committee to address multiple critical issues the local fire departments are facing and assist in determining viable solutions. The committee will consist of two private citizens; two business representatives; and two elected officials with one being from the Upshur County Commission and one being from the Buckhannon City Council. This was tabled on Thursday, April 21.

The next regular meeting of the Upshur County Commission will be held on Thursday, June 2 at 9 a.m. at the Upshur County Courthouse Annex. The commission meeting scheduled for Thursday, June 9 has been cancelled.


More In Local News