Buckhannon-Upshur Hall of Fame committee announces 2019 class

TENNERTON – The 2019 class of the Buckhannon-Upshur High School Athletic Hall of Fame was announced this week by Hall of Fame committee chairman Jim Marsh.

The new members are:

Denny Caruso – A highly honored B-U basketball player, B-U varsity assistant and head basketball coach.

Tom Hasbrouck – A 30-year coaching veteran of soccer (three state championships), girls’ softball and swimming.

Greg Hill – A member of the 1969 state runner-up football team, All Big 10 player, B-U coach of freshman football, girls’ basketball, varsity assistant and head football coach.

Randy Kirchberg – A contributing booster with 15 years of volunteer service as fundraiser, game filmer, and booster club president.

The late Tappan Squires – A B-U cheerleader, coach, teacher, and a 16-year member of the Hall of Fame committee.

1993 Cross Country Team – Undefeated in 11 cross country meets on the way to winning the 1993 state championship. The team members were Robert Akers, Rick Dotson, Justin Eskew, Armin Gooden, Derrick Hinkle, Erik Hinkle, Johan Long, Chris McClain, Chance Miller, Grant Riffle, Mike Ryan, Wayne Simon, Marshall Tolliver and Chris Waugaman. Jane Poundstone was head coach, and Rick Dye was assistant coach.

The new class will be introduced Oct. 18 during halftime of the game between the Buccaneers and University’s Hawks.

They will be inducted Oct. 19 during the annual banquet held in the school commons area.

Complete biographical sketches of the new Hall of Famers will be presented at a later date.


Video News
More In Sports