BOE recognizes STARS

There’s a million different pictures...

TALLMANSVILLE — The Upshur County Board of Education recognized several individuals at their Tuesday meeting, from student artists to teacher Schoology completers.

The BOE presented Upshur STAR Awards to art students Wyatt Morris, Lana Cobb and Alecsis Butler, whose art was displayed at the board office, as well as B-UMS Art Teacher Sherri Butler.

Washington District Elementary School Principal Gabby Rhodes recognized the following students for completing their Summer Reading BINGO boards: Layla Tenney, Bentley and Tayla Daft, Alonna Jeffries, L. Raschella, Bruce Gooden, Trinity and Morgan Shaffer, and Nekotah Ware. Each child received a build-a-bear of their choice.

Rhodes then recognized several volunteers who have helped with different projects and activities for the school and Washington District students, such as building and installing new equipment and furniture for the new school year, cleaning and decorating the school, working in the library and playground, delivering food to those without transportation, and even one volunteer who made face masks for every student and staff member in the school. These volunteers recognized include Chris Tenney, Alan Suder, Riley Lamb, Joyce Lamb, Nick and Theresa Raschella, Johnna Figueroa, Samantha Wagoner, Tim and Kris Leggett, and Irene Miller.

Finally, Rhodes recognized all of her staff who completed the Apple Certification course, including teachers Christy Suder, Shauna Moody, Dorian Carrico, Lisa Tenney, Lisa Bennett, Rebecca Wilfong, Jennifer Barry, Tonya Jeffries, Tracy Hurst, Aika Murray, Monica Leigh, Andrea Ellis, Jason Piacente, Ashley Woody and Rhodes herself.

Eddie Vincent, Director of Wellness, recognized the Schoology Completers from WDES, including Aika Murray, Tonya Jeffries, Monica Leigh, Lisa Tenney, Rebecca Wilfong, Ashley Woody, Andrea Ellis, Tracy Hurst and Jason Piacente. These individuals were also presented with Upshur STARS.

Treasurer Jeffery Perkins presented Upshur STAR Awards to Don Nestor and KD Flanigan Coleman for their work with the Foundation for Better Schools Backpack Program. This program works to help prevent children in the county from going hungry.

Also during the meeting, Congressman Alex Mooney’s District Representative Rhett Dusenbury recognized Erin Anderson as the West Virginia 2021 Teacher of the Year and read a statement from Mooney thanking her for her efforts and hard work in the education of Upshur County youth. Anderson shared she is finishing her national application that is due at the end of this month and her theme is teacher identity.


More In Local News