BOE announces Teacher, Service Personnel of the Year

BUCKHANNON — The Upshur County Board of Education announced the teacher of the year and service personnel of the year at the meeting on Tuesday, April 5.

Technology and Communication Specialist for Upshur County Schools Kayla Yocum introduced the winners. “Behind our student body is a great leadership team of service personnel and teachers who go above and beyond each and every day to ensure the best not only for our students but for our schools and our community. They look out for their colleagues, their students and their families that embody Upshur County and it is our great pleasure to recognize them for this honor tonight,” stated Yocum.

The recipients for Service Personnel of the Year were then announced and are as follows:

• Jessica Grose, Hodgesville Elementary School, Upshur County Service Personnel of the Year

• Timothy Bean, Buckhannon Academy Elementary School

• Heather Wright, French Creek Elementary School

• Angie Starkey, Rock Cave Elementary School

• Samantha Bennett, Tennerton Elementary School

• Cecilia Stewart, Union Elementary School

• Amy Kelley, Washington District Elementary School

• James Stalnaker, Buckhannon-Upshur Middle School

• Shelley Phillips, Buckhannon-Upshur High School

• Rick Wentz, Transportation Department

• Connie Painter, Upshur County Board of Education

The recipients for Teacher of the Year were then announced and are as follows:

• Virginia Hicks, Buckhannon Academy Elementary School, Upshur County Teacher of the Year

• Levi Bender, French Creek Elementary School

• Taylor Tenney, Hodgesville Elementary School

• Sheila Reynolds, Rock Cave Elementary School

• Christy Gaudet, Tennerton Elementary School

• Ellen Shepherd, Union Elementary School

• Lisa Bennett, Washington District Elementary School

• Kayce Wooten, Buckhannon-Upshur Middle School

• Jessica Snyder, Buckhannon-Upshur High School

Following the announcement of winners, all joined together for photos and a gift was presented to all recipients. Colleagues and family members of winners were also in attendance to share in the celebration.


More In Homepage