Bobcats place two on All-MEC Football Team

Jujuan Linzy (82) of the West Virginia Wesleyan Bobcats was named to the All-MEC Second Team Offense. Linzy led the MEC in kick-off returns and led the Bobcats in receptions.

BRIDGEPORT  West Virginia Wesleyan Football had two players recognized on Tuesday when the Mountain East Conference announced the all-conference teams.

Jujuan Linzy who was a return specialist and wide receiver for the Bobcats earned All-MEC Second Team Honors, and Robby Huddleston a linebacker for Wesleyan earned All-MEC Honorable Mention.

Linzy led the Bobcats with 56 receptions and 585 yards while scoring six times as a wide receiver. He was fourth in the MEC with 5.09 receptions per game.

He led the conference in kick-off return average, hauling in 25 kick-offs for 616 yards for a 24.6 average.

Huddleston led the Bobcat defense in tackles with 69 ­— 41 solo and 28 assisted. He had one sack on the season.

Notre Dame's Jaleel McLaughlin, Jack Kosko and Mike Jacobs, along with Charleston's John Cominsky, have earned individual honors from the Mountain East Conference as the league announced its annual awards and all-conference teams.

McLaughlin took home both Offensive Player of the Year and Offensive Freshman of the Year, while Cominsky was tabbed as the Defensive Player of the Year. Kosko earned Defensive Freshman of the Year honors and Jacobs was selected by his peers as the Coach of the Year.

McLaughlin, a freshman from Marshville, N.C., set a MEC record with 1,883 rushing yards and 17 touchdowns this fall. He is second in the country in both rushing yards and rushing yards per game (171.2), and leads all freshmen in both of those categories. The three-time MEC Offensive Player of the Week had nine 100-yard rushing games, including a pair of 300-yard rushing performances. In fact, his 340 yards rushing against West Liberty were third-most in a game in NCAA Division II this season.

Cominsky, a senior from Barberton, Ohio, is the Defensive Player of the Year after leading all defensive tackles with 67 stops on the year. He piled up 16.5 tackles for a loss on the year to push his career total to 48.5. Cominsky led a defensive unit that ranked second in the league against the run holding teams to under 100 yards on the ground per game. He has a 3.92 grade-point average and is majoring in Biology and Chemistry.

Kosko, a native of from Ashburn, Va., is the MEC Defensive Freshman of the Year for his work on the defensive line for the Falcons. He helped a Notre Dame defensive unit that was the league's best against the run giving up just 68.5 yards per game and scoring defense allowing just 17.5 points per game. He finished the year with 6.5 tackles for a loss, with 5.5 of those in sacks, recording a sack in four of his last five games.

Jacobs is the MEC Coach of the Year for the first time in his career after guiding Notre Dame to its first undefeated regular season and Mountain East Conference title. The Falcons have been ranked for the majority of the regular season and have earned its highest ranking under the third-year head coach. NDC is the No. 1 seed in Super Region 1 and will host play in the postseason for the first time in school history.

In addition to the individual awards, the league also announced the All-MEC teams. Notre Dame and Fairmont State each had seven first team selections, while Shepherd had six and Charleston and Glenville State each had four. Urbana, W.Va. State, West Liberty each had two and Concord and UVa-Wise had one first team honoree.

The all-conference teams and individual award winners are selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

2018 MEC Individual Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Jaleel McLaughlin (Notre Dame)

Offensive Freshman of the Year: Jaleel McLaughlin (Notre Dame)

Defensive Player of the Year: John Cominsky (Charleston)

Defensive Freshman of the Year: Jack Kosko (Notre Dame)

Coach of the Year: Mike Jacobs (Notre Dame)

2018 All-MEC First Team


QB — Tyson Bagent

Shepherd Fr.

RB ­— Khalik Hamlin

Fairmont State So.

RB — Jaleel McLaughlin Notre Dame Fr.

RB — Mario Pender

Glenville State Sr.

WR  — Ryan Feiss

Shepherd Sr.

WR — Tyrell Henderson W.Va. State Sr.

WR — Marvelle Ross Notre Dame Jr.

WR — Michael Strachan Charleston So.

TE — DJ Cornish

Shepherd Jr.

OL —Jimmy Burchett Notre Dame So.

OL — Jaime Colon

Shepherd Sr.

OL — Zach Cox

Fairmont State Jr.

OL — Derek Dressler Concord Sr.

OL — Gus Deviney

Charleston Sr.

OL — Brandon Nicholson Notre Dame So.

OL — Chandler Zavala Fairmont State So.

                  Defense DL — Kahzin Daniels Charleston Sr.

DL — John Cominsky Charleston Sr.

DL —Austin Hill

Glenville State Sr.

DL— Mikal Toliver Urbana Jr.

DL — Sha'haun Williams Notre Dame Jr.

LB — Jerry Iweh

Fairmont State Sr.

LB — Cliff Clark

West Liberty Sr.

LB — Duray Hall

Urbana Jr.

LB — Dominic Cizauskis Glenville State Jr.

LB — Chrys Lane

Shepherd So.

LB — Guam Lee

Notre Dame So.

DB — Cedric Lynch

Notre Dame So.

DB — DeJuan Neal

Shepherd Sr.

DB — Josh Ojo

West Liberty Jr.

DB — Michael Porter Fairmont State Jr.

DB —Marcus Tarrer

UVa-Wise So.

DB — Stephen Turner Fairmont State Sr.

P — Justin Watts

Glenville State Jr.

K — Aaron Ball

W.Va. State Sr.

KR/PR — Lyrics Klugh Fairmont State Sr.

2018 All-MEC Second Team


QB —Takwan Crews-Naylor Fairmont State Jr.

RB — Jamorya Cousin UVa-Wise So.

RB — Jimmy Wheeler Charleston Sr.

RB — Calil Wilkins

W.Va. State So.

WR — Javon Butler

Glenville State So.

WR —Kaian Duverger UVa-Wise Sr.

WR —Shawn Harris

Fairmont State Jr.

WR — Jujuan Linzy

W.Va. Wesleyan So.

TE — Zaire Mitchell

Notre Dame So.

OL — Keandre Batson Shepherd Jr.

OL ­— Devon Bradshaw W.Va. State Jr.

OL — Doug Hardin

Urbana Sr.

OL — Brice Hinton

Notre Dame Jr.

OL — Garrett Kapstein O'Brien Fairmont State Jr.

OL — Levi Lloyd

Shepherd Sr.

OL — Lonnell McGuire Fairmont State  Jr.

OL — Austin Treneff Notre Dame Sr.


DL — Josh Ballard

Fairmont State Sr.

DL — Vincent Ellis

Notre Dame Sr.

DL —Kenny Randall Charleston So.

DL — Cody Rine

West Liberty Jr.

DL — Ricky Robinson Shepherd So.

LB — CJ Bagwell

Charleston Sr.

LB —Zach Malone

Concord Sr.

LB — Donovan Montague UVa-Wise Sr.

LB — Jalen Nelson

Charleston Sr.

LB — Curtis Collins

Notre Dame Jr.

DB— Cedric Amadi

Charleston Sr.

DB — Ponce Deleon

Shepherd So.

DB — Logan Deri

West Liberty Jr.

DB — Dezmon Hopkins UVa-Wise Sr.

DB —Jonte Pooler

Charleston Sr.

DB — Jeffrey Thomas Notre Dame So.

P— Brandon Purk

Urbana Sr.

K — Owen Rozanc

West Liberty Fr.

KR/PR — Marvelle Ross Notre Dame Jr.

2018 All-MEC Honorable Mention

QB: Chris Brimm (Notre Dame)

RB: Rakeem Darden (Fairmont State), Carl Garmon (W.Va. State), Isaiah Young (Urbana)

FB/HB: Ridge Durbin (West Liberty)

WR: Wanya Allen (Shepherd), Javon Hayes (Fairmont State), Tywan Pearce (Concord)

TE: Alex Wetzel (Shepherd)

OL: Trevor Haislip (Glenville State), Sage McBride (UVa-Wise), Eric Ostrow (Shepherd)

DL: Derrick Brumfield (Notre Dame), Scott Dixon (Shepherd), Tatah Ndeh (Shepherd), Shavonta Timothy (UVa-Wise), Glenwood Williams (Fairmont State)

LB: RJ Goodwin (Notre Dame), Antonio Harris (Fairmont State), Buster Henderson (UVa-Wise), Robby Huddleston (W.Va. Wesleyan), Joe Stoneman (W.Va. State)

DB: Tevon Littleton (W.Va. State), Quintavius Twine (Glenville State), Moises Valcarcel (W.Va. State), Sam Quinn (Charleston)

P: Sam Tucker (Fairmont State)

K: Colin Harvath (Fairmont State)

KR/PR: Chaudlier Shepherd (Concord)

Video News
More In Sports