Bennett, Squires earn First Team Big 10 All-Conference swim honors

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Buccaneers placed three swimmers on the 2021 Big-10 All-Conference Team that was recently announced.

Buckhannon-Upshur’s Preston Bennett and Sam Squires were named to the First Team while Reis Leonard was selected to the Honorable Mention team.

Bennett shared high point honors for the Bucs at the Big 10 Conference meet at the Harrison County YMCA.

He broke the Big 10 Conference and B-U school record in the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 4:59.16 while taking first place in the event and won the 200-yard IM with a time of 2:08.02.

Squires took second place in the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 23.89 and third in the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:11.35.

Leonard took sixth and seventh in the 200-yard freestyle (2:21.64) and the 100-yard freestyle (1:00.47).

The trio joined Owen Caynor to take second place in the 200-yard freestyle relay (1:43.02) and the 200-yard medley relay (1:57.92).

Bridgeport led First Team selections with five while the Bucs and Robert C. Byrd each had two and Robert C. Byrd one.

Bridgeport won the conference title while Elkins finished second, Robert C. Byrd was third and the Bucs took fourth with just five swimmers.

Randy Keener of Bridgeport was named the Big 10 Conference Swimmer of the Year while Christy Fubio of Robert C. Byrd was named Coach of the Year.

Boys Big 10 All-Conference

First Team

Preston Bennett – Buckhannon-Upshur

Sam Squires – Buckhannon-Upshur

Reese Allen – Bridgeport

Randy Keener – Bridgeport

Luke Pinti – Bridgeport

Marcel Rodriguez – Bridgeport

Reed Smith – Bridgeport

Joshua McPherson – East Fairmont

Patrick Fubio – Robert C. Byrd

Kaden Meighen – Robert C. Byrd

Second Team

Mason Tichenal -- Bridgeport

Austin Whetsell – East Fairmont

Luke Anger – Elkins

Jasper Clark – Elkins

Braxton Kenney – Elkins

Ivan Looney-Sanders – Elkins

Izaak Whetsell – Elkins

Grant Broadhurst – Fairmont Senior

Will Angus – Grafton

Jackson Howe – Robert C. Byrd

Honorable Mention

Reis Leonard – Buckhannon-Upshur

Kirt Drennen – Fairmont Senior

Ezra Johnson – Robert C. Byrd

Individual Awards

Swimmer of the Year – Randy Kenner (Bridgeport)

Coach of the Year – Christy Fubio (Robert C. Byrd)



Video News
More In Sports