B-U’s McDaniels, Parke earn Big 10 All-Conference basketball honors

Shelby McDaniels

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur Lady Bucs had two players represented on the 2020-2021 Big 10 Conference Girls All-Conference Team.

Shelby McDaniels, a junior guard, was named to the First Team while freshman guard Gabby Parke was named to the Second Team.

McDaniels, who was recently named to the WVSWA All-State Second Team, led the Lady Bucs in scoring with 15.9 points per game and was second on the team in rebounding averaging 5.1 per game.

Parke was second on the team in scoring with 12.1 points per game and led the team with made three-point field goals.

“Shelby and Gabby are two of the hardest working kids in the off-season so very deserving to see their hard work pay off,” remarked Buckhannon-Upshur head coach Rob Kittle. “Shelby is a tremendous leader and so passionate about the game and has a tremendous understanding of the game. I am very happy for her!! Gabby had an incredible season for a freshman! Very few instances did she actually play like a freshman. The moment was never too big for her she has an incredibly bright future.”

The Lady Bucs ended the year with a 9-7 record.

The league did not select a Player of the Year or Coach of the Year on the girls side this season.

“The coaches voted against both for some reason,” explained Kittle. I didn’t understand their decision personally.”

2020-21 Girls Basketball All Big Ten Team

First Team

Name School Grade

Shelby McDaniels Buckhannon Upshur Jr.

Paige Humble Bridgeport Sr.

Gabby Reep Bridgeport Soph.

Meredith Maier Fairmont Senior Jr.

Marley Washenitz Fairmont Senior Jr.

Olivia Krinov Lewis County Sr.

Hannah Ferris Lincoln Sr.

Karlie Denham North Marion Sr.

Olivia Toland North Marion Soph.

Alyssa Hill Philip Barbour Jr.

Michelle Thomas Preston Sr.

Second Team

Name School Grade

Gabby Parke Buckhannon Upshur Fr.

Kierra Bartholow East Fairmont Sr.

Somer Stover East Fairmont Sr

Anna Belan Elkins Jr

Emily Starn Fairmont Senior Jr.

Emma Cayton Lewis County Sr.

Madi Martin Lincoln Sr.

Katlyn Carson North Marion Jr.

Emily Denison Philip Barbour Soph.

Carsynn Sines Preston Jr.

Victoria Sturm Robert C Byrd Sr.



Video News
More In Sports