B-UHS junior RB Savion Farmer named to WVSWA All-State Football Honorable Mention Team

B- UHS junior RB Savion Farmer named to WVSWA All-State Football Honorable Mention Team. PHOTO SUBMITTED Dalton Wright Staff Writer

TENNERTON — Buckhannon- Upshur High School football team’s junior running back, Savion Farmer, picked up a West Virginia Sports Writers Association’s All-State Honorable Mention selection after being the Bucs first option in the backfield. Farmer earned respect statewide after a prolific season for head coach Zach Davis’ Buckhannon-Upshur High School football team. Farmer was the Bucs featured back this year and took full advantage of his opportunities. The junior’s highlights feature countless runs of over 20 yards. The Bucs’ running attack leaned on Farmer’s big play ability all season long. Only the Bucs’ strong schedule and getting slightly banged up kept him from surpassing the 1,000-yard mark on the season. 

With Farmer’s help, Davis’ led the Bucs to wins over all three major local rivals. The Bucs bested Lewis County in the battle for “the pick,” brought “the axe” home in a win over Elkins and beat Philip Barbour to sweep their Route-33 match-ups. “Savion is a really good player and a really good kid. He has a bright future. Go Bucs!”

The WV AAA All-State First-Team offense is led by the MVP of the state championship game, Martinsburg’s Hudson Clement. Clement capped off his high school career by setting a new state record by scoring 8 total touchdowns for the Bulldogs in their win over Huntington to claim Martinsburg’s’ ninth state title since 2010. Opposite of the Clement led offense, the WV AAA All-State First-Team defense is a talented bunch headlined by Spring Valley’s Ty Bartrum. Bartrum led the Timberwolves defense to being one of the toughest units in the state, on their way to racking up a 4-6 record.

WV AAA All-State First-Team Offense

WR – Hudson Clement, Martinsburg, SR (Captain)

WR – Cyrus Traugh, Parkersburg South, JR

OL – Tate Jordan, Bridgeport, SR

OL – Max Wentz, Huntington, SR

OL – Jake Zittle, Martinsburg, SR

OL – Eli Campbell, Princeton, SO

OL – Layth Ghannam, George Washington, JR

RB – Jackson Fetty, Cabell Midland, SR

RB – Ian Cline, Greenbrier East, SO

RB – Leonard Farrow, Oak Hill, SR

QB – Gavin Lochow, Huntington, JR

K – Jonny Aya-ay, Huntington, SO

UTL – Cam Cole, Bridgeport, SR

UTL – Murphy Clement, Martinsburg, SO

UTL – Noah Waynick, Huntington, SR

WV AAA All-State First Team Defense

DL – Nemo Roberts, Cabell Midland, SR

DL – Corbin Page, Spring Valley, SR

DL – Aydin Flemming, Martinsburg, SO

LB – Tyreese Smith, Huntington, SR

LB – Brogan Brown, Hurricane, SR

LB – Mondrell Dean, South Charleston, JR

LB – Donald Brandel, University, SR

LB – Cody Shy, Spring Valley, JR

DB – Ty Bartrum, Spring Valley, SR (Captain)

DB – Keynan Cook, Woodrow Wilson, SR

DB – Zah Zah Jackson, Huntington, FR

UTL – Landyn Reppert, Bridgeport, SR

UTL – Colt Thomas, Wheeling Park, SR

UTL – Daminn Cunningham, University, SR

P – Grant Cochran, Princeton, JR

WV AAA All-State Second-Team Offense

WR – Wayne Harris, South Charleston, SO

WR – Spencer Powell, Jefferson, JR

OL – Xavier Bausley, South Charleston, SR

OL – Eli Stahara, Morgantown, JR

OL – Brace Mullett, George Washington, SR

OL – Justice Hutchison, Cabell Midland, SR

OL – Jacob Wickline, Greenbrier East, SR

RB – Mason Moran, Cabell Midland, SR

RB – Colin McBee, University, SR

RB – Evan Tewell, Jefferson, JR

QB – Sammy Roberts, Jefferson, SR

K – Taylor Thomas, Bridgeport, JR

U – Dalton Fouch, Spring Valley, JR

U – Trey Dunn, South Charleston, JR (Captain)

U – Shawn James, Capital, SR

AAA All-State Second-Team Defense

DL – Christian Slack, Martinsburg, SR

DL – Grant Neiswonger, John Marshall, SR

DL – James Scott, Huntington, SR

LB – Nolan Shimp, Lincoln County, SR

LB – Phil Reed, Bridgeport, JR

LB – Lucas Rippetoe, Hurricane, JR

LB – Cannon Lewis, Cabell Midland, SO

DB – Charlie Brazier, Bridgeport, JR

DB – Nate Shelek, Wheeling Park, SR

DB – Aidan Paulsen, Bridgeport, SR

DB – Taran Fitzpatrick, George Washington, SR

U – Jacob Barrick, Martinsburg, SR

U – Chandler Schmidt, Cabell Midland, SR

U – Bryson Singer, Parkersburg, SR (Captain)

P – Hayden Pack, Spring Mills, SR

WV AAA All-State Honorable Mention(s):

Ray Adames, Musselman; Scout Arthur, Huntington; Ezra Bagent, Martinsburg; Jayson Barnett, South Charleston; Ismael Borrero, Hurricane; Noah Braham, University; Devin Bruer, South Charleston; Amari Brown, George Washington; Braylon Brown, Morgantown; Reece Burton, Princeton; Jace Caldwell, Spring Valley; Koltin Childers, Washington; Sage Clawges, University; Dominick Collins, Princeton; Monquelle Davis, Greenbrier East; Jacob Donley, Brooke; Noah Dotson, Greenbrier East; Alec Duley, Morgantown; Chase Edwards, University; Elii Faircloth, Hedgesville; Savion Farmer, Buckhannon-Upshur; Amari Felder, Huntington; Logan Fisher, Cabell Midland; Bryson Fleming, Jefferson; Demetrius Gearheart, Parkersburg South; Casey Geso, Princeton; Chase Hager, Hurricane; Kyle Hall, Parkersburg; Matthew Hall, Spring Valley; Ryan Hall, Bridgeport; Ashton Hasslacker, Hampshire; Jerrae Hawkins, Wheeling Park; Kobe Hayslette, Musselman; Curtis Hayes, Parkersburg; Daniel Henderson, University; EJ Hendrix, Martinsburg; Zack Hill, Hampshire; Alex Hott, Hampshire; Elijah Jackson, University; Jeremiah Jackson, Oak Hill; JT James, Hurricane; Will James, Wheeling Park; Caden Johnson, Hurricane; Jay Jones, Woodrow Wilson; Austin Litton, Ripley; JacQai Long, Capital; Michael Lunsford, Cabell Midland; Robby Martin, Huntington; Kyle Matthews, George Washington; Lucas McCallister, Greenbrier East; Maddex McMillen, Woodrow Wilson; Nolan Meehleib, Jefferson; Caleb Nutter, Morgantown; Cole Petry, Spring Valley; Brett Phillips, Wheeling Park; Grant Plants, George Washington; Bobby Powell, Morgantown; Joey Ramsey, Ripley; Brodee Rice, Princeton; Keyshawn Robinson, Jefferson; Shawn Rouse, Cabell Midland; Kam Shallis, Martinsburg; Robert Shockey, Parkersburg South; Alex Smith, Cabell Midland; Isaiah Smith, Lincoln County; Zion Smith, Capital; Aidan Sparks, Bridgeport; JT Spencer, Greenbrier East; Casey Stanley, Parkersburg; Kamar Summers, Bridgeport; Ben Turner, Spring Valley; Corbin Turney, University; Khalief Tye, Huntington; Ethan Vargo-Thomas, Oak Hill; Klypsan Wallace, John Marshall; Zach Wharton, Washington; Kam Wells, St. Albans; Brandon Whipkey, Parkersburg South; Adam Wilkinson, Riverside; Elijah Williams, Riverside; Gage Wright, Parkersburg South


More In Sports