B-UHS Hall of Fame Committee announces class of 2020

Jim Marsh, Chair of the Buckhannon-Upshur Athletic Hall of Fame Committee, welcomes guest to last year’s ceremony. Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 ceremony will be held April 10, 2021.

TENNERTON – The Buckhannon-Upshur High School Athletic Hall of Fame has announced the class of 2020 which includes five individuals and one team.

The individuals are: Lorene George Kerans Bailey, David Boyles, Kip Cottrill, Kate Dobberstein,  James “Jim” Johnson while the one team being enshrined is the 1965 baseball team.

Lorene George Kerans Bailey was a 1949 graduate of Buckhannon-Upshur High Scholl where she served as cheerleader from 1946 and 1949. She was selected as Best Cheerleader at the 1949 WV State Basketball Tournament.

David Boyles was a 1989 graduate of Buckhannon-Upshur High School where he participated in football, wrestling and track and field. He was First-Team All-State and First-team All-Conference selection in football.

Kip Cottrill graduated from Buckhannon-Upshur High School in 1999 participating in football, basketball and baseball. He garnered first team All-State and First Team NCAC in baseball. Kip went on to play two years of baseball at Davis & Elkins College and two years at West Virginia Wesleyan as shortstop.

Kate Dobberstein is a 1998 Buckhannon-Upshur graduate participating in soccer and basketball. She was a four-year starter in both sports and earned several post-season honors.

James “Jim” Johnson has served as a coach at Buckhannon-Upshur High School for 50 consecutive years before his retirement this August. Since 1971, he has been an assistant boys basketball coach, assistant track and field coach, head boys track and field coach, head girls basketball coach and head boys and girls cross country coach.

The 1965 Buckhannon-Upshur High School baseball team won the Big 10 Conference along with the sectional and regional tournaments on their way to the West Virginia State Baseball Tournament where they suffered their only loss of the season to Parkersburg High School.

Team members were Larry West (head coach), Tom Hart (assistant coach), Rick Hollen, Billy Mackey, Junior Armstrong, Dave Corley, Ron Sheets, Mike Gillespie, Joe Tenney, Joe Shaw, Brent Phillips, John Barnes, Bill Shissler, Steve Andrews, Danny Hosaflook, Roger Wilfong, George Leachman and Gary Wamsley.

In years past, the Hall of Fame Induction Banquet has been held in October of each year.

Due to the uncertainty of the COVID-19 virus pandemic, the class of 2020 will be inducted on April 10, 2021 at Buckhannon-Upshur High School.

Complete resumes with pictures of the five individuals and the 1965 will be published prior to the April 10 banquet.


Video News
More In Sports